My Knives #21 400 mm Gyuto - Black Beauty

in #life5 years ago

Hello dear Steemians,

In this post, I'll be presenting the last knife I've made - a big ass Gyuto.

IMGP1982.jpg

I've started this knife some 6 months ago, did the heat treatment and keep it in my workshop for a long time.
The reason I haven't even started grinding it was that I had a few orders I had to finish and I wanted to do something different with the handle for her.

The thing is, even before I've started I had this idea of making a simple but beautiful black handle with a red spacer. Well, the problem with ideas is that they sound good in your head, but when you actually want to make them real and you don't have the materials you can't do shit.

So, about a month ago I've finally found the right wood and it was on sale so the build was good to go.

As always, a few stats before the progress pics and then a few nicer ones at the end.

Steel - mizu honyaki 1095
Handle - Bog oak, G10 spacer and African Blackwood
Length - 260 mm, OAL 400 mm
Weight - 240 g

The Build

Oh, since the heat treatment was done so long ago I can't find the pics before the grinding stage (actually I am just too lazy to look for them).

Rough grind and the idea of the handle
IMG_20181027_122034.jpg

A bit finer grind, test etch and a clearer idea of the handle

IMG_20181027_140156.jpg
IMG_20181027_133656.jpg

A lot of hand sanding
IMG_20181103_151737.jpg

Final thickness - actually final thinness
IMG_20181101_134448.jpg
IMG_20181101_134429.jpg

Cheching the hardness - 62-63HRC -Good job Doc!
IMG-20ffb86e73802d39b1e057abf66e078d-V.jpg

Push-cut test before the final etch


Glueing everything together
IMG_20181102_120057.jpg

Almost done
IMG_20181114_083410.jpg

The final product

IMGP1980.jpg
IMGP1983.jpg
IMGP1986.jpg
IMGP1989.jpg

And that's it.

Oh, almost forgot, I'll be doing a raffle tomorrow, so if you're on Instagram check out my feed and jump in on a chance to win this beauty for almost nothing ($20).

Thanks for stopping by and see you soon with something completely different

Sort:  

I didn't know made a knife also an art @docsmith. From design, plan until finished. You always custom made knife when their is requirement? Or you just follow your customer requirement and made one.
In the photo, I saw that the thickness of knife has been reduce almost half of it. How you control the thickness, is it some machine for you to control?
when saw your knife, i felt want to give it a try in meat slicing. It must be very smooth and sharp. hehehe

Thank you @olivackl!

It all depends on the build, sometimes I'm doing a custom based on clients specs, and sometimes I just build them the way I think they should be.

I knew each type of knife has different function. How you determine the type of knife you need to build?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @docsmith, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks guys - much appreciated 😉

Thank you for this unusual but absolute brilliant job, have never thought that it is possible to see such post. Couple of months ago I saw the documentary about Japanese knives and that was really amazing how long does it take and how many tests it should pass in order at the end to get the name of that famous company and of course the price was unbelievable.
I like the way you presented your work, and put the photographs so we can imagine that this is a real handcraft. Like the pattern you have created and it is incredible video how the knife cuts newspaper in two!

Thank you.
It's a real treat to hear how people are enjoying my work and learning a thing or two about knives.

What an interesting talent you have. I did not even think of how knives were made before seeing this post. Your red accent looks awesome and I love the "dripping" look on the steel. you have a beautiful logo. How do you get that onto the blade?

Thank you @fitinfun!
But I wouldn't call it a talent, more a skill I've learned. If you saw what my knives looked like when I started, you wouldn't have called it a talent ;)

The dipping look on the steel is called hamon and it marks the line between hard and soft steel.

Logo - that's actually the only thing I don't do myself, I just take it to a laser guy and he engraves it. It's a bit more expensive, but it looks much better than anything I can do in my shop.

Firstly, let me tell you that I didn't forget about you. I just struggle to choose the right size and the color.. BUT I'll get in touch with you soon again :)

This knife looks really nice! I think I would go with black too. It also goes very well with red I must say.

Great job again! It's unbelievable that you do it in your free time!

PS: I love your engraving. It looks cool.

Why thank you @delishtreats.
And no worries for being painstaking with your research

And thank you for the kind words, but why not jump to this chance of getting this one for $20? There's a 1:17 chance of winning. ;)

Glad you like my maker's mark

Do you have the same name on IG? I would definitely give it a go! :)

It's in my profile info
Not the same but similar @docsmithknives

Thank you! Now I'll come over totally silly but I don't understand the rules. What kind of an e-mail do I need to send or what kind of a difference do I need to calculate? If you want, we can discuss it on discord too...

Explained all on Discord ;)

@docsmith I just discovered your knives for sale. I am so impressed by the quality of your work and craftsmanship. I dug a little deeper and saw that you are sharing your story of your life from your heart, putting your soul into working with your hands and teaching others how to make knives. I'd like to extend an invite for you to join our new Steem marketplace (100% free).

You can get to know our mission here: https://steempeak.com/introduceyourself/@homesteaderscoop/supporting-a-steem-community-economy-intention-values-and-ethics-in-our-products-introducing-homesteaders-co-op

Thank you @sagescrub, I will check it out first chance I get some free time.

:) I appreciate it!

Now all you need to do is put on some mystic Chinese symbols engraved on it somewhere and put it in an antique looking case then showcase it. We're looking at this as a million dollar idea .m.

Ha ha ha!

But surely you mean Japanese ;)

I really meant Chinese as in made in China for anyone smart enough to get the joke as soon as they see the symbols.

I'll think about it ;)

Hi docsmith,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you guys - much appreciated!

Darn, Im not on instagram! First thing I thought when I saw that knife is 'I want it!' Haha!
As a homesteader who butchers, and as a mom who cooks, I have an appreciation for a good knife. That one looks like a good knife indeed, and whoever gets it will be a lucky one!

Heh @squishysquid don't give up so fast - it will be also posted on FB - https://www.facebook.com/SmithingDoc
So you can also buy a spot there

And also thank you ;)

Awesome!! Im gonna check it out! :D

Sweet knife, following :)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Thank you ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14