Christmas Tradition: The Tree - My family's strange obsession with Star Trek.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

header-tree

A Christmas tree for the die hard Star Trek fan.


This isn't the tree of my childhood, that was a cheap and fairly barren looking old 1970's fake tree that required assembly and looked, well... awful. Then sometime in my teens, we inherited this artificial but amazing tree from my grandparents. Over the years, the tree has become something special and it features almost every last Hallmark ornament from a very specific line of ornaments.

You see, this tree has all, save for the very first (it's almost impossible to find...) of the Star Trek ornaments available from Hallmark.

I wanted to share some images I took recently while visiting my family.
Click any of the small images for a full size view.





The tree is almost entirely covered in ornaments from various Star Trek properties. In fact, space is running out. There may even come a time when we can't contain all the ornaments on the tree. I suppose at that point a second tree might be in order, but there is something magical about having them all in one place. I hope we can find a way to make them fit.





Even the topper is Star Trek related. My mother recently fashioned this herself from some high quality paper and more glitter than should be allowed in any one place at a time. Seriously, that stuff really is the herpes of the arts & crafts world. It manages to invade every place it can. It's evil.




Some of the ornaments are amazingly detailed and even feature lights or other small ships. Here we see Deep Space 9 and some ships holding station there. This is probably only of my favorite of the larger ornaments. I wish I had more photos of the other cool ships, but there would be just too many too share.





This is one of the new ornaments this year, featuring the Franklin, the ship flown by Kirk and his survivors against the bad-guy in that epic battle scene featuring the best use of a Beastie Boys song ever. Seriously, goosebumps were had by all on that one.



upper-half

Obviously, I love this tree. I have always been a fan of Star Trek, some of my fondest childhood memories are of watching The Next Generation both live and on our many recorded VHS.

It's become a part of our Christmas traditions to see what each new ornament is every year. Though, I suspect at some point we will need to find a way to ensure this doesn't become a fire hazard.


collage


What are some of your Holiday traditions?



Thanks!

sig3-trans

Proud Moderator and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - Brought to you by:

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2


All images used fall under CCO License unless otherwise specified, or they are created by the author and released under the same license.

Sort:  

Very cool.

I love creating weird, funky, and unique traditions with friends and family. You are far more engaged in something when you have helped created the tradition.

I wrote a post about the value of creating new traditions with friends and family if you are interested in checking it out.

Thanks for sharing! Maybe I'll one day do the same with game of thrones or something ;)

Pretty cool, that tree has gone where no tree has gone before!
One of my Christmas traditions is to have a bottle of Jägermeister in the freezer for some extra holiday cheer on those cold winter nights :)

A season of love, gifts, kindness.

Those Christmas 🎄 trees are awesome, they’ve become a tradition in a season like this to spend money and time on stunning trees like these. I’m only sad that people love artificial trees but are not lifting enough finger in preserving our habitat and natural trees.

Thanks for sharing @discordiant.

I remain a humble friend @maxdevalue.

The tree looks fab! Haven't watched star trek (unless you count commercials) bit I think it's awesome to have a unique twist to your holiday traditions. Meanwhile, I can say I come from a long line of boring people in that department lol

This is beautiful! I love family traditions:)

My family never really had traditions....Just d tradition of cooking a pot of rice and "maybe" some pieces of meat....lol
I'm serious

It's different in every part of the world. Not every holiday is the same, but what really matters is the kindness behind them.

this is such a fun look into traditions. while i grew up with star trek, it was just one of many shows, and i think if we could have afforded special ornaments, finding black adder decor would have been a challenge. you are very lucky to have such a wonderful memories!

beautiful christmas tree

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @discordiant from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Wow. A whole family of trekies. Yo u guys are such geeks. In my family it was just me and my mom who were the geeks. We would share all our sci-fi and fantansy books. Merry xmas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15