Why I Quit Being 'Too Nice'

in #life6 years ago (edited)

C360_2018-03-24-10-36-36-875.jpg

I was too nice until life happened. It wasn't my intention to be a @diabolika. All the @diabolikas of the world are made not born. When I was younger, I always looked for validation and approval from others because it felt nice to be called nice, until nice became too nice. As I get older, I realized that being too nice can be a negative thing. You will be seen as weak, needy, manipulative, unrealistic and dependent. People see you as someone who can easily be taken advantage of, a tool for their own selfish goals. Human connection sounds like business to me. It sucks to be too nice when you are not setting boundaries in relationships. You lose yourself in the process.

I believe it all started when I was a child, I was treated as a commodity, a means to an end by those who were supposedly loving and taking care of me. Unknowingly, I became too nice to anyone showing signs of slight affection. I was constantly looking for love and approval from external sources. I became a doormat. But bad experiences taught me the consequences of being too nice to people, I expected to be treated the same. My sky-high expectations brought a lot of big disappointments in my life. I just couldn't fathom how come people cannot do the same to me. How can't they be just as polite, sensitive and empathetic? The truth is, I feel very deeply. I become hypersensitive. I give what I haven't received in life. But I gave too much hoping that people would do the same. Being too nice means you tend to set unrealistic expectations, so when you don't get what you give, you feel hurt, betrayed and abandoned.

In the history, you know what had become of the nice people. They were taken advantage of, killed, cheated and manipulated by the dominant force/race in the society. As I mingled and opened myself to different people, I came to a conclusion that the same type of behavior has been passed to their newer generation. If not killing, just subtly taking advantage of the weaker forces to further establish dominance, mostly through economic means. I see this every day around me. The too nice people can't be strong leaders, they first need to establish status and power in order to be respected. I feel like those who demand idealism are only doing so to further take advantage of the nice people and maintain dominance in the society. Sure, I could be wrong but when in 1 in a (?)? Now I admit that I hate being called nice. I also hate being identified with the members of the tribe. Oh, here comes the nice and smiley people! BS, count me out of your BS from now on. Deep down, I only hear being called weak. Too nice means people will bend their spines to the best of their ability only to favor the ulterior motives of the self-righteous alpha males. Swallow the bitter reality or drown in the sea of illusion and feel the pain again and again. Your life, your choice.

I remember the young idealist version of myself when my mind was still pure and uncontaminated with bad experiences. I used to believe in equality, love, peace and all that shit I was made to believe. But you will never know how it feels until you are part of or on the receiving end of oppression and harsh treatment. It is all relative, perspective changes in time. What is true to you might not be true to me. I learned this the hard way.

I now try to set limits without giving too much. It is very difficult for me to trust anyone, anyone who is also too nice. Because there are not many too nice people in this world anymore, and knowing human nature, there could only be a hidden agenda. The truth is, people are too full of themselves and I am no different. People want to present their case straight away without even listening to others. I don't really fall for those who take the moral high ground. For me, being selfless means being selfish.

I smiled a big smile but my politeness and charm were only misinterpreted. Most only thought I was flirting or that I liked them back. Youthfulness is a curse, it is perceived as deceitful. It is hard to find a true human connection that I just put up with people's behavior. And so I become hurt, bitter and angry. It is hard to be myself with anyone because it only means being pushed around and disrespected. People don't know their limits so I learned to set those myself. I learned self-respect.

I was too nice, that was the problem. I don't want to sound Machiavellian but sometimes, life's business is forcing me to be. Wait until you get there... I say. In this crapitalistic society, people are treating each other as commodities. In this day and age, It is hard to know who your true friends really are, so I learn to value the very few people in my life. I try to overcome my trust issues but it is difficult now. I worry that I might not leave something for myself again. I take care of myself first because no one else can. My sanity first before I worry about yours. I help myself before I can help you. Treat me nice and I'll treat you even better. Push me down and I'll push you even further. Beware of the saint. Sure, nice is a nice word, but know when to stop being too nice.

Sort:  

I've noticed a special kind of people: the ones who are way nicer than they're mean to be. I think they have nothing more than their overdosed sympathy to get credits in the eyes of the others. They ask crazy things in return, or think the others own them many things.
I am wary about those people.

For me, basic respect is way more important than being nice

For me, basic respect is way more important than being nice

I agree.

You gotta shoot for the stars and if you hit the moon... great!

You can't take care of anybody else unless you can take care of yourself first. I used to run around helping everybody that asked for it until I realized most people don't actually need help. I was just neglecting myself. They are simply lazy, selfish and feel entitled to be treated better than others despite treating others worse than they expect to be treated. That was when I stopped trusting people who hadn't earned it. Stopped being a sucker for the damsel in distress. Stopped caring if people cried when they didn't get treated like a special snowflake just because. I was tired of being used and I still am.

But part of me pushed through. I realized I could still be the nice guy, but also be someone people respected for being upright and forthright. Not just a doormat for other people's expectations, but someone who has expectations based on mutual respect, human dignity and honesty. If someone can't manage that, they are jettisoned, be it with a smile and handshake or a finger to the face.

It is amazing how powerful the words "I'm sorry, but I can't respect that kind of selfishness," are. Some come around and things can be salvaged, but most will slink off and curse you, either way, problem solved. Few things feel better than telling someone who has mistreated you or abused your trust that you have seen through their game and won't play anymore.

Life is give and life is take, it is the balance of the two that makes it bearable. Be it business or personal relationships, that is a truism that doesn't fade. Taking and taking would make me the scum I can't respect, giving and giving would mean I couldn't look myself in the mirror and respect myself for not standing up for myself.

It would be easy to stay bitter given how unjust many things have turned out, but I said f' that, I am not going to let my nice self, that I love, be obliterated by some selfish psychopaths. I just got smart about being nice I guess. It isn't always easy and I'm not always successful, but for me at least, neglecting my nice side would be utter defeat. I don't know if you can relate to any of this, but I could relate to your writing and thought I would share. Cheers!

Taking and taking would make me the scum I can't respect, giving and giving would mean I couldn't look myself in the mirror and respect myself for not standing up for myself.

Isn't it funny that people tend to lean to the extreme side of things, that it might be hard to find the balance between the two? Damned if you do, damned if you don't. Taking and taking would make me an ugly and selfish being with but giving and giving would only make me look like I have ulterior motives.

I'm less dumb which means I can see through people now. I might still get hurt in the process. But I still can't trust someone that easily. But maybe, I just want some minimal damage, if that is even possible...

#roastme for steemit?

Respect works for me too. I hate being nice, it blows!

I know what you mean.

Good fences make good neighbours. Good boundaries make good relationships.

True that.

You're really very sweet. If I go to the shop and see, beautiful girls are sells women.Also they are in a call center,Even they are in recievetion ,call center.
The busnessmans are using them.
Really this is a good post

"I just couldn't fathom how come people cannot do the same to me. How can't they be just as polite, sensitive and empathetic? --- But I gave too much hoping that people would do the same." I totally feel you! I don't consider myself as overly nice person in general, but when I'm in a relationship, I'm probably too adaptive and thoughtful -think what's best for the other one and US and easily forget myself. Sometimes I suffer from this later on and find myself thinking why can't other people think the same and treat others the same way.. I should probably just learn to be more selfish like you well described.

Sometimes it is better to be a bit selfish. The good selfishness.

That true but it's hard when your personality is thoughtful and you are used to think and mind other peoples needs too much..

I think there is not such a thing as been too nice.

At the same time I think there is.

I feel in Asia you have to stand your ground otherwise you will be taken adventage off too much. But I still want to be nice.

If one random guy asks me about a donation because of his sick mother/sister whatehever I might give more the first time/second etc till I find out he used on beer whatever. Does this make me more carful who I think "deserves me being nice to" yes absolutly! Do I stop being nice and giving? No!

In a way I dont want that I have a foodprint of the world, the world will have a foodprint of me being fucking nice.

Giving money aka 'helping' does not really mean you are a white hero or being nice to people. In fact, it's the other way around. The people are too nice to accept your money to make you feel better and the typical superior. Thank them for making you feel better. In reality, it does not matter where they use it, if deep in your heart, you really give without expecting. For all I know, some people only ask for your money because they run out of paper to burn or to make a fire in the jungle. That's how much they don't give a shit about your paper. Which explains why they are truly happier. :)

Your experience, your perspective.

yeah...I would totally disagree with that but actually I am not sure if we are still talking about the same thing.

People are way not to nice to ask abotu moeny they demand it beacuase I am white and think I have to be loaded. I don`t force my help on people but the money they use to whip their ass with seem still be intersting to many.

There is no giving without expecting! There are no actions without expecations!

Giving money! Riding a wave! Cooking! nothing in this world is done without expecations!

I dont know why you are so hostile but I give to feel good and I should not feel bad about this!

It is still better without giving at all I would argue. If you cant support yourself, for whatever the mostly unfair reasons how the world works at the moment might be be, you should still live, right. Even if it is only because one person wants to make up for it.

Should you starve to death out of pride? I know things are fucked up and I try to do right in my little world but I dont have the money or power to fix everything or even touch some problem even by its root.

How you would suggest I behave myself?

No matter how bad the world this is, I have traveled in a way where I received help without expectations. You have read my stories. They are few, but they exist. It is hard to know now. I have more experience with people who expected something back. But if you can afford to go out of your comfort zone, you might experience the same and change your overall view.

Nice girls would learn how to sing Desafinado​:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84