My Perpetual Dilemma of Payment Transfers and Other Corporate Inhumanity

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Payment transfers and remittances have been my problem for way too long now. I was doing some online work when I was traveling and the only way to get paid was via Paypal. I wish I knew about Steemit or cryptocurrency back then. I wrote about losing my bank cards at some point which is quite inevitable if you are traveling for a long time. And of course, the banks made it too hard for me to withdraw my balance. Though I understood it was for security purposes, it just didn't make any sense not being able to receive card replacements, especially that I've met other travelers who were able to get theirs overseas. It just goes to show how backward our banking system is and until now. And how hard it is to have real freedom.

dilbert-corporate-culture_tcm18-28982.jpg

img src

Today, I got a notification from Paypal that the payment transfer was reversed again. I got charged another $5 for it. I was thinking of something that I did in the past that caused this whole issue. I have deleted the old credit card that I used to verify my Paypal account. And I have a different debit card associated with my Paypal now. Like I said in my previous post, it's hard when you change the details on your Paypal as you can run into some problems when you withdraw funds. Now I got another message from PayPal saying that they are reviewing my account or something. I have to wait for several days again before I even get the money, or not, or probably lose some money again in the process. It really sucks to have your money taken away just like that, and I'm just done with this shit.

I am considering other options to receive payments, let me know if you have other ideas? I might end up asking my clients to pay in half (deposit) through Paypal then just pay the balance in US Dollars or Euros when they arrive. Anyway, I have a good relationship with my suppliers so they won't even ask me to pay in full until after the tours. I definitely need to open dollar accounts but the high maintaining balance is not something I can afford at this moment. I might opt for wire transfers but there are still some risks when it comes to receiving money to my local currency account. Banks here are so meticulous. I am even kind of paranoid that they might even freeze my account for some reason or no reason at all someday. When a crisis happens in this country (not impossible and surprising at all), you cannot entrust all your hard-earned money and assets to them. They are all connected with the corrupt government institutions and the central bank. I have to get out of here soon, the question is when?

If you are doing some business online, Paypal can be a convenient way to receive payments as most people from all over the world are using this to transact. However, Paypal is notorious for its account stability issues and horrible customer support. Paypal is just too risky and not suitable for high-risk industries. This is why I am advertising Bitcoin as an alternative payment method on my website. I think any decentralized payment method will greatly alleviate the lives of the rest and those who are trying to make it in this world. I have a bit of Steem Power now as my security blanket - for as long as we can have Steemit. I'm a living proof that some things in this world just won't work anymore.

Convenience has a price as you know it. Like, what can you expect from the majority of corporate entities? There's just no humanity in the system, can we stop fooling ourselves once and for all? I'm not only talking about Paypal here, there's Booking.com, Fiverr, credit card companies, Airbnb, fast food corporations, tech companies, Monsanto, private hospitals and even the corporations you work for. Do you think they will even care if you lose your job? Can you ask them to notice you and your problem? Or your health? No matter how much you cry about their terrible customer service or bad product, you are just one of the many - you are not special to them. That's what you get when you continuously support these profit-driven companies. Most of the companies I mentioned are all about quantity, masking massive profit through small fees. They are all about maximizing shareholder value. It's the same everywhere.

I've seen it myself. If someone is dying, the nearest private hospital won't accept or discharge this person. You go to a public hospital and you have to wait in line until you are bleeding to death. When I was younger, I've seen my mum crying and cursing the hospital because they just wouldn't discharge her... it was a painful memory. You see now what I mean, that's how deep my hatred is for these institutions and the like. You won't have it until it actually happens to you.

Basically, if you don't have a lot of money - you are fucked. If you were born to lesser circumstances you are way too fucked. Things can still be possible but expect that it is going to be a forever uphill battle for you. If you have more money, you will have more. And if you have less or worse, nothing, you will even have negative nothing, like lower than zero. You will have debt until death.

You know, maybe I am ranting too much about this, or maybe these issues are way too incomprehensible for some people who were born with empathy deficit. I am just tired of the system. But guess what, I am trying. Still trying. But there seems to be an invisible hand that prevents things from happening, for me, for you and for all of us down here.

Sort:  

"It just goes to show how backward our banking system is and until now."

Haha saying that it is backwards is putting it politely lol.

I have never used PayPal. I had no idea that they were that shady but it does not shock me. You are right about convenience coming with a price. Everyone wants to find a way to charge you for claiming your own money. These corporations see the governments taxing us and they are they are trying to get into the game too now.

Like the comment below, having cash gives me more power. What they taught me when I was a little, our money is safe in the bank and that it's better to let it circulate, now I don't think so...

I'm with you on the banks. I still do a lot of transactions in cash out of principle. Cash is legal tender and if I have the cash in my hand then my right to its value is strong. When money goes electronic suddenly I'm at the mercy of all these other entities. My country is eroding the legal tender status of cash and has not yet had a conversation about people's rights with regard to accessing the monetary system when that monetary system is largely private banks and payment processors. Even though I swing libertarian for the most part, I do think that once a dignified life is reliant upon private actors then those actors should have more responsibility to the public. I don't have any great solutions for you sorry, just the burden of my own complaints.

When money goes electronic suddenly I'm at the mercy of all these other entities.

It makes me worried. Now it makes me think if I should accept clients' payment by cash (US dollars)...maybe less than half or half of the total (the deposit) will be received electronically.

You probably don't want to make it too hard for your clients to pay you. International money transfers attract attention and there are usually local laws you have to comply with too. It gets easier.

Yeah, traveling with a lot of cash will not be such a good idea for them.

there are usually local laws you have to comply with too.

I've forgotten about this!

The good news is that it does get easier to comply with your local laws the more of these transactions you do. Also, the intermediaries soon learn that such transactions aren't out of the ordinary for you and they'll be flagged less often for attention.

I understand.

Hi diabolika !

Do you know Share2Steem ?
It's a new application that allows you to automatically post on Steemit what you publish on Instagram, Twitter or Youtube.
This way you can build your community here on Steemit and on your traditional social media at the same time, and with no extra efforts !

For the latest news about the Share2Steem application, visit our @share2steem profile.

See you soon on https://www.share2steem.com

This message is generated automatically and only once per user. We won't bother you again.

Have you looked into Venmo (a PayPal subsidiary) or Square? Square, Inc is a very forward-thinking company.

I feel like MoneyGram is using Ripple as a means to expedite international remittances as well.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86