Remember that Toy You Loved as a Kid?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

We all had that one favorite toy... Whether it was a cabbage patch kid doll that your Grandfather stood in line for hours to buy two days before Christmas, or a Tickle-me Elmo, or a doll literally made of rags, or your first Lego set, or your favorite matchbox car, or the perfect shaped stick for batting a ball... Everyone had a toy they loved as a kid.

20180810_154219-1.jpg

Maybe to this day, you smile when you think of it.

20180823_112131.jpg

One of my favorite toys was my "Lite Brite."

20180823_111307.jpg

It is a box with a lightbulb inside that allows you to push colored pegs in little holes, so light shines through in whatever design you so desire. I enjoyed many evenings as a child sitting in the dark, creating fancy colored designs.

20180810_161652.jpg

So when I saw Lite Brite on sale while at a store with my daughter, I scooped it up.

20180823_112250.jpg

The first day we had it, I didn't get to play with it because my daughter was so busy with "her" new toy. But I was ok with that. 😉

I narrated my childhood memories involving my Lite Brite while she played. I told her how I loved it so much because it was something that me, my Mom & Dad all agreed was fun. My Mom and I don't really care for playing traditional games. And my poor Dad was always trying to get me, or anyone, to play chess with him. I've never wanted to put in the type of mental energy needed for a good game of chess.

But Lite Brite! It was easy, it was pretty, you could do some and then come back and finish it later...it was everything good 🎊👍🙌

20180823_111346.jpg

The modern version of Lite Brite is smaller than I remember the original being. And I was disappointed at the small amount of pegs included. I seem to remember the Lite Brite I had as a kid having a plethora of pegs, even enough to cover every hole. And that was even after I kept losing some of them under couch cushions, behind counters, down the side of the bed 😳 Our vacuum cleaner went through a phase of collecting pegs, especially since this was back in the days of shag carpeting!

I am a firm believer that "adults" need to be responsible and do the work of "adulting." However, it's been lovely to take a short trip down memory lane with my daughter by my side, being creative and "playing" together. We all need some playtime now & then 🎉😁

20180630_124041.jpg

Thanks for sharing in my Lite Brite moment!

What was YOUR favorite toy as a child?

steemusafooter.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

Sort:  

Aww yes! I loved my lite brights too haha My favorite was playing Perfection!

The "perfect" game 😊😉

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Wow! Thanks so much @socalsteemit!!! 🎉🎉🎉

I remember those I use to not clean up very well after playing so the poor parents would step on them! Least they where not as bad as stepping on Legos! Endless hours of fun late at night making silly things on that toy.

My all time favorite would have to be Legos. Birthdays and all holidays all I want was more Legos! I never really cared for much else. Sometimes family members would get together and pick up a bunch of different sets that all belonged to the same category. Which really made things like Christmas special as I would open up a present that might been an underwater Lego set. Then another one and another one. I would not want leave my room for weeks creating the sets and going on adventures lol.

Lol...sounds like my son 's life! I have stepped on many a peg lego, & match box car! 😉 Legos are awesome. Did you have the Aqua Raiders set? That was my son's 1st "special set" and it was an underwater scene. He too, did not leave his room for days 😊 Thanks for sharing your find memory!

Its so amazing!
and your daughter is a cute girl ;)

Wow, no family resemblance at all... ;)

Lol.. Yes 😉

Wow! That is a lovely photo of you two! I went through toy phases, but I remember not being able to sit still without my etch-a-sketch. I got pretty good with it...or at least pretty good in my 9 yr old eyes!

I always admired kids like you, who could do cool stuff with etch a sketch. Honestly, i loved the concept of it... But I wasnt any good at it. My creativity just didnt come out that way. But I have enjoyed living thru my daughter @annac while she plays on hers. She takes after her Dad @joechiappetta & is quite the artist! Thanks for sharing your fond memory 😊

I may need to buy myself an etch a sketch just to see if I can still do it . I just saw that they cost $2.99 when they came out in the 1960's. I must have had an original one!😃

The games which reunite friends or family are the best everything is now digital but old games are still love

Well said @blazing 😊 thanks!

What a neat thing!! I love it that your daughter liked it as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85