Suburbia #1: Life of a forgotten citizensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

bryan-minear-317365.jpg

I'm everywhere. I sit in parks alone and watch the people rush to work with their pretzels and coffee to go. They hardly ever notice me. I'm right around the corner at a busy intersection, watching children learning to cross the street and cars driving by with music of questionable taste screaming from inside.


You can find me at your favorite supermarket, or on your way to your favorite bar. Some days you spend a few hours there, some days you barely walk out at 4 a.m. then grab a bite on your way home.

At first, I thought it was me. Maybe I was the wrong color, or...I don't know. Sometimes I get a little rusty because of bad weather, but I'm always there to help. There was obviously a communication issue. I mean, have you ever felt like you would beg someone just to throw stuff at you? I was angry. Out of all the things I could have become, I became this.

TC.jpg

After months of existential debates, I realized that I couldn't have possibly chosen to be here (or how to be here for that matter) and I know some may argue that "you can be everything you imagine," but I don't necessarily believe in all of that. I can blame it on the administration all I want, but in the end, there's nothing I can do but accept fate. Of course, I fantasize about fancy cars and private jet planes, but all I can do is watch life unfold before my eyes, with its goods and bads and people that seem like they're always looking for something, always in a hurry or with their eyes trapped in their fancy gadgets. Sometimes I wonder what happens with the people that stop passing by.

Much love,
T.C

[BONUS: I heard a version of this song on a winter day played by a street musician that had stopped nearby. Of course, he tossed his cigarette on the ground, but still, he played this beautiful music afterward. ]

"Suburbia" is a writing experiment where I try to imagine stories for random objects around the city.
If you want to watch my journey, you can follow me @demostene. If you really like this story, please upvote and resteem. Thank you!

Sort:  

Very interesting perspective, described so well using beautiful words and metaphors. I really enjoy your writing my friend @demostene.

Thank you for the kind words @adrianv! Happy you like it.

I simply love your stories!

Thank you! ^-^

Well, there is a movie that i saw in 2007... let me check on imdb...

(26) CRASH - Trailer - (2004) - YouTube



[Crash (2004) - IMDb](http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0375679/

that at the beginning starts with something like that: People who walks the streets has forgot to feel the life, the touch by a stranger on a street. They can't feel it anymore in their rush to work... etc

So, it was before the smartphones and touch revolution. Despair and work has made all of us more stupid and more useless. Soon, machines will take place to lot of people and who knows nothing will got some problems.

But, thinks like you said above, i did till recently. I loved to stay in the park or in the street and look to people. All my life i loved to see people reactions to all what happens around them. Then, you can watch yourself doing what you like and see where you go.

It can be a better place or it can make you close inside yourself and play this world funny games just because you are not here.

Although, world is always in a constant change. If you can't adapt it, then you are left behind in some ways. But is never too late to get back in if you want.

When you see somebody stopping by, it may be because he is one of us... or because he just looks at you... or... anything else.

If we don't interact we can't find out.

It could be a strange thing today to interact with strangers because lot of them are stuck in their phony world with only facebook and other things that kinda killed their dreams... they are busy people, with big ideals in life... to write on facebook and post on instagram then sharing and... lol, that's it. That are their lives.

gg to them and to their world, but cheers to others that are in both real and digital worlds.

cheers bro'

#cof

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by demostene from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.11 % upvote from @khoa

thanks to: @demostene.@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@----------------------------------------------SEND ANY AMOUNT TO GET AN UPVOTE

I love the concept of this series, it reminds me of some of the stories from my short story collection that I have yet to share :-)

Thank you @whatamidoing! #2 is fresh from
the oven

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67