Some Colorful Flowers I Noticed On A Walk

in #life5 years ago

IMG_20191016_150127994.jpg

Yes, nice looking flowers. I just looked them up these might be bougainvillea. I seen other pictures that look like these so I think I am pretty sure that they are.

Well, I don't know too much about flowers. I just knew that they would be a pretty interesting picture. Isn't it something that we carry cameras around all the time?

Was it like that all the time? No, but the cell phone has brought us things that we take for granted now, but before we would have to have all kinds of devices on us that one little cell phone can do and even more.

Actually we carry a computer that is more powerful than the computers of the Apollo mission. I just looked it up and they say that the processing power of an iPhone is 100,000 times more powerful than the computers that landed a man on the moon.

Well, than my question is with my cell phone can I land on the moon? Well, no, I can't land on the moon as the moon is light and I don't think we can land on light, but I will agree that the phones in our pocket is 100,000 times more powerful than those mainframe computers in that day.

I like to use my calculator at the grocery store. I think everybody should use the calculator at a grocery store. You know at the check out line I may see people giving things back to the clerk as they went over budget.

When I take out my mom for grocery shopping I always pull out the phone and put it on calculator mode. Mom knows what the limits are and we just keep a running total going.

So at the end we keep the purchases in budget. I even over estimate the cost. Like when the celery is 78 cents, I just round up and count it as a dollar purchase. This way it gives us some cushion for the end cost, plus it is easier to key into the calculator.

Another advantage of a camera in the phone is if there is some kind of a car accident. In the old days most people didn't keep a camera on there person or in their car.

Now days it would be important to take some pictures right away. Of course in a accident just take pictures as fast as possible. That way you can get the positions of the cars and even the skid marks. Also don't forget to get the license plate in the picture too.

Then since the phone is in your hand you can even call the police and the insurance company.

Another thing about the phone is that we can check the internet for different types of information. Earlier this year I had to do jury duty. Well, the jury parking lot that I always go to was full and I had to find another place to park at.

For a moment I didn't know what to do as I didn't know the alternative parking places to go at that moment. So I found a place to park temporarily and looked up jury duty parking. It did mention other addresses to go to. So I punched in an address to the GPS and I just made it in time, only to be picked for the jury box. It was all good. We found the guy not guilty.

Another convenience of the cell phone is that I can find the local weather. In the old days I would have to read it in the papers or wait till I see it on the news.

That reminds me of something. I was at my credit union the other day and on the monitors they showed the weather from different cities. Well, that is nice, but I would like to see the weather for my own city. Well, I guess I am not too interested in that kind of information, cause I don't travel that much anymore.

You know when I first joined Steemit in May of 2017, I had a flip phone that did have access to the internet. The camera in it wasn't that good, but I did use it for a lot of my blogs in those days.

Only in the last part of 2017, I couldn't get the internet anymore. Well the software for my flip phone was no longer updated and discontinued. Well, then when I was at my moms and she wanted to know what I last wrote about, I couldn't look it up anymore.

So that is when I decided that I will actually get me a smart phone. I know I didn't want an iPhone as I didn't want to pay that much. So I ended up buying a used Moto G 1st generation Motorola phone for $60.

It is what I used for the picture of this blog. I am hoping that 4G will stay awhile as I don't want to buy another kind of phone for awhile. Later on I even bought another of the same year and model so just in case something happens to the current phone I have an immediate back up. Plus it saves me from getting phone insurance. Also that second phone of the same make and model only cost me $30 on Ebay.

So I was right on time to take a picture of those flowers. The convenience of having a cell phone.

Let's end with a scripture, Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment? Matthew 6:25.

Source 1

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

Hello @david777111, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

@david777111, Good photo and I think you are right about the "bougainvillea"..
the "Moto" is a good phone that is fairly substantial. About the only thing that is a plus about the iPhone is you can disable "location services" and maintain a modicum of privacy. Android phones won't allow you to disable this feature so you can be pinged by anyone through your service provider to track your movements.
There is a phone company called Huawei (wo-wee) that drumpf placed a tarriff on but then rolled it back after complaints fron Intel and AMD people. They are making their own OS called Harmony that sounds pretty solid. There are lots of photos here on steemit that were taken with the Huawei phone and the newer one comes with a 40 MP camera.
Anyway, Take care, keep shooting!
Mitch

You got me curious about the location services. So I checked. There is a feature on my phone where I can disable location, of course every thing that location relies on will not work. I turned it off. Then turned it back on. It is hard to get away from the 1984 book showing the powers of big brother. I just figure that they are always listening and sometimes they are even taking pictures as I find the camera taking pictures when it is in my pocket. I know that if I really want to stay anonymous I will cut off the location and even pull the SIM card out. Then just use pre-paid burner phones, but I am not there at this time. I appreciate all that information you gave me. Thank you @mitch94541!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17