My Geiger Counter

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180904_202633671.jpg

This is my Geiger counter. It is a PRM-9000 Radiation Monitor. I bought it to see if any of my food might have higher than normal radiation.

After the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear disaster I wanted to see how much radiation might be on my food. You see, I do like eating sardines and wild caught salmon.

I like eating sardines and salmon for their omega 3 fatty acids. Well, actually I like the taste more than the knowledge of their omega 3 fatty acids, but that would be their bonus.

I used to like eating tuna, but tuna is a bigger fish so more chances of picking up more radiation and metal.

In the news they were saying that radiation is headed for the west coast. Well, California is west coast. I also like eating seaweed. Wakame seaweed is the one I like the most.

Did you know that seaweed can even protect you from radiation?

So I heard that there are certain Geiger counters that would be better for food. Well, I found this one on Amazon. It seem to have a lot of good reviews.

It does cost a pretty penny, but I wanted to see if these foods that I buy have anymore radiation than my other foods.

I had been watching videos of people bringing in there Geiger counters on airplanes and hear it click off. This one guy was told he can have it on, but he had to wear his headphones as they didn't want the other passengers to hear all the clicking of the Geiger counter.

My cousin once told me one of his sons was going to Japan. I asked if they were going to give him a Geiger counter. His wife laughed, but my cousin didn't say anything.

I would have liked to have known what the radiation is like there.

So anyway let's get back to me checking out the food. I did check my salmon and sardines and seaweed and the clicks are about normal. I mean no different than the background radiation in my house.

So I still eat sardines and salmon. I still enjoy my seaweed soup.

Now if I ever buy something and the Geiger counter is clicking like crazy then I won't eat that.

Sources 1, 2, 3, 4

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

I enjoy seafood but I'm not a big fan, my dad likes to go fishing and all my mother do is enjoy the food, nice article david, have a nice one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88