Having A Backup Vehicle That Is A Pickup

in #life5 years ago

IMG_20190812_120901631.jpg

This is my 91 Chevy S10 pickup. I bought it back in early 2014 for about a thousand dollars. Why did I buy an old pickup?

Well you see it goes back to when my mom wanted a stationary bike and I found one, so I brought my 89 Nissan Sentra. I went to a guys house and looked at the Schwinn stationary bike. I actually used to use a stationary bike like this when I first joined a health club back in the early 80's.

Well after I bought the bike I brought it back to my 89 Nissan Sentra and the guy walked back with me to my car. Then I heard him say, It won't fit in your car.

Well I thought if I were creative I might get it in my 89 Nissan Sentra. Well, I tried it from different angles, but I couldn't get it in my car.

Then I looked at the base of this stationary bike. I thought maybe if I took off the base, I could get at least a part of the stationary bike in my trunk. Well I took out my tools and to my surprised the guy that sold me the stationary bike went and got his tool box and helped me unbolt the base.

Well, with the base off I can at least put the bike in the trunk, but couldn't close the trunk. That was OK since I always keep rope in my car. So I tied down the trunk the best I could. Then as I was going to bring the stationary bike to my mom's, I was thinking, I really need a pickup truck.

Well, because of that idea I kept looking on Craigslist for a pickup. I even seen some different pickups, but nothing I wanted to buy, then I seen this pickup on Craigslist.

The body looked straight and both side mirrors were in tact. Also the clutch seemed really good. So I bought it for about the thousand bucks. Then I put some more money into to make it run right.

I was glad that I got the pickup and it was put to good use. You see I like to go over the Craigslist free ad section. People just want to get rid of stuff that another might like.

There was a time where someone wanted to get rid of a stationary bike. Well, mom already got her stationary bike, but I would like to have a stationary bike also.

Well, close to midnight a seen an ad come up about this stationary bike and for some reason I thought I better get it at that moment. So at midnight I left to go to another close by city to get this bike that was set on the sidewalk. I printed out a copy of that ad just in case a police car sees me loading up the stationary bike in my truck after midnight. Someone might think I am stealing something.

Well, I put it in my pickup and went home. At least I didn't have to take it apart.

Other times I am looking for firewood. Many times people put on the free ads about getting rid of firewood. Of course I really like firewood, especially if it is free. Free firewood is free energy, but it does take a lot of my physical energy to put it in the pickup and then more energy to unload that wood.

There was a time I wanted to get some 55 gallon metal barrels to store rainwater in. Well, there is no way you can fit one of those barrels in a car, but with my Chevy S10 pickup I can put 5 of those 55 gallon barrels in the bed of the truck.

So if you are going to have an extra vehicle just in case you need a spare vehicle, you might get an old pickup. This way if the main car breaks down and has to go to the mechanics then the pickup can be used for the spare vehicle, but not only a spare vehicle, but also a way to transport big items.

Let's end with a scripture, Till I come, give attendance to reading, to exhortation, to doctrine. 1 Timothy 4:13.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

WOW!! only thousand dollars..

Yes, that was pretty good. Thank you @zomal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79