A Story Of The Fire Hydrant In My Front Yard

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180814_145411301.jpg

This fire hydrant was not in my front yard when I first moved into my house in 1990. Then one morning I see men working on something on a piece of my front yard. I can't remember the year, but it was somewhere between 1997 and 2007.

I only say that cause I know it was sometime when I had my truck driver neighbors. Too bad they didn't mark it into the cement.

So nobody asked me if they can put that fire hydrant there. I guess it is an easement now. Maybe my house insurance may go down a little if they know I now have a fire hydrant in my front yard. Bad thing is no parking 15 feet from the fire hydrant.

My house is really on the middle of my street. So it might have been a strategy thing for safety. This would be more favorable for houses that are in the middle of the street, cause the other fire hydrant is on the far east side corner of the street.

So do I feel bad that they used a portion of my front lawn? Not really. I mean if my house ever caught on fire the fire hydrant is right there.

I only thought about writing of this fire hydrant as I was mowing my lawn. I looked at it and thought I could probably write on this fire hydrant. I am always looking for my next story.

Funny how here on Steemit we can write about anything. I could even write about how a dog would do his number one on the fire hydrant, but really I don't remember seeing that. I think the neighbor's dogs like my big tree next to it better.

Notice how in the picture the cement supporting the fire hydrant is cracked. Well, like I said earlier I used to have truck drivers for neighbors. Well their big truck tractor would run over a piece of that cement that supports the fire hydrant.

So that cement cracked as it was not made to support a truck tractor rolling on part of that cement. Well it is just a crack. The fire hydrant still works.

Well, the truck drivers moved out. Actually they got foreclosed on. Yes, they just moved out. I went and looked at the paper taped to the front door. Something like $262,000 that had to be paid. Later I believe the house went to auction.

This is what happens when you use your house to get more money. Of course when you get the money they are just adding to the debt that is connected to the house.

I would rather pay up the house as fast as I can, than get stuff and add more debt to the house.

It is kind of like the movie called, The Big Short. If one borrows against the house or do a refinance there will always be extras charged to the debt that you might not have thought of at the time of the 2nd or refinance.

Can something like a Big Short happen again? Yes, I would think so, maybe even worse. Can you imagine worse than the Big Short? What if instead of bailing out the banks we have to bail out countries? I think I heard that from Gregory Mannarino.

In that case it may be wise to have some cryptocurrencies, precious metals and some hard assets, like food, water, medicine and whatever else is needed if a financial contagion happens.

Well, lets get back to the fire hydrant. Notice the color of this fire hydrant? It is yellow and that means it is a Private hydrant that is connected to the public water system.

I hope I never have to use this fire hydrant.

Sources 1, 2, 3, 4

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

Buen articulo @david777111, tivestes una buena idea fotografiando el hidrante! Saludos!

Wat a Content

Posted using Partiko Android

articulo muy completo, es una historia interesante, buen trabajo amigo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71