Popping In to Say Hi! Fitness Update, Life Update, All the Good Things!

in #life6 years ago

It's been a while Steemit! I wish I could say I had good reason for taking a break. I was busy with life, got accepted to grad school so I've been prepping for that. Had some shake-ups at work. Lots of wedding plans being made. But the honest answer is I wasn't appreciably busier than when I was posting more regularly. In truth, other things just caught my interest. I stopped engaging with the communities on here as much, spent more time learning about crypto things (specifically trading). It's been the story of my life. I find something I think is interesting, throw myself really hard at it for a few months, and then move on. Sometimes they become an everyday part of my life (I stuck with online poker until the sites mostly dried up, fitness is still a big thing for me), but often times things just get left behind and only get left in a drawer half done or on a shelf collecting dust. I'm a very flow based person it seems. I move in the direction a current pulls me in, and then when I'm out of it things just stop. Probably why I think management consulting is going to be a great fit for me. Start a project, throw myself at it for a few months, and then move on.

I posted about my fitness goals a while ago. Progress has been slower than I had hoped, but still getting there and I'm coming off a really good week of push new PRs! Finally made 5x225 on bench, hit a new 1RM on deadlift last week (355 pounds!) and made 4x300 on squats today. I'm about a month behind on of when I wanted to hit my goal of a 1000 pound powerlifting total, but going by the estimates on my lifts I only have about 20 pounds more to go on each lift before I get there! I'm hoping I with a bit of pushing I can get there by the end of the month (if not it will probably take another month since I'll be away for two weeks). I did seem to have my lifts stall out for a while and I've really gone back to studying my form the last month and made a few key adjustments that I'll write about in a follow up post. I will say though it's the little things that really made the difference once you get to big weights.

Aside from that, still just having a great time living life. A lot of really good parties lately, and met a couple of really cool new people. I really love the burner community, where else are you going to make friends with a cool girl visiting from Germay, a doctor, and an astrophysicist at one event that also has a bunch of random aliens running around and a giant robot mech warrior? Wedding planning is about to kick into high gear and we are setting some really high expectations for how amazing it's going to be. I have a pretty good feeling we'll meet them. And then festival season is about to start and all sorts of glorious summer activities. I guess it's not that shocking I haven't really found time for Steemit with all of that going on, but I still hope to drop in from time to time with some interesting thoughts or just updates on interesting things happening! Either way, I hope everyone is doing well and getting out there to live a fulfilling life.

Today's Fitness Challenge Workout Details

Squats - 10x135, 5x185, 5x225, 5x265, 4x300
Arnold Crunches - 3x12x120#
Romanian Deadlifts - 5x145, 5x165, 5x205, 5x235
Hack Squat Machine - 8x270, 6x330, 8x330

Total - 109

The last few parties I've been to have been very breaks heavy so I'll leave you with some of that. Will be back over 140 BPM shortly!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cygon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Congratulations @cygon! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cygon! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cygon! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cygon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cygon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cygon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cygon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cygon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65870.41
ETH 2675.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89