Gratitude Day 1-7; My Reply To @mariannewest, Positive Vibes and Paying It Forward

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Thanking All Of Steemit And Sharing What Means Most

My run on steemit has been no less than incredible. I have no idea how my topics have captivated the hearts and minds of those of you who follow or are entertained. I simply do my best at conveying my interests. I love information of all types, and share various random ideas or try and share my life experiences. The Steemit community has allowed me to open up to others on a new platform.

Two weeks ago @mariannewest nominated me to do a 7 day challenge (#7daypositivitychallenge) in her post Gratitude. Her comment was very sweet:

@csusbgeochem1 - because he is such a positive force already and will spread this message like wildfire

My life outside of Steemit doesn't allow me to post every day so I do my best to be proactive. I felt 7 ideas incorporated into this post would give it more content and allow someone to see the whole picture.

Day 1

What is firstly most important to me and what im most grateful for is being @beckymeep's boyfriend. She means the world to me and has stuck by my side through thick and thin. Mostly everything I do in my life I do for her. We have traveled far and wide and still have many more places to go. We recently took a fast trip to Oregon and got to put her Suzuki Sidekick on the dunes. Not once did it get stuck and we were the only street legal vehicle out there!

Day 2


The second thing I am grateful for would be my friends pre Steemit. One Friend in particular would be @derekrichardson. I met Derek freshman year of high school and we have continued to talk ever since. Before he brought me on Steemit we were hiking and cliff jumping throughout the years. He showed me as long as you were in nature you could never go hungry, there is a ton of stuff to eat everywhere. I never really went cliff jumping before hanging with Derek. He showed me there is no need to be afraid of heights. Iv seen him huck off an 80 ft cliff only to reemerge from the water unharmed and ready to do it again, and I'm up to a little more than half that.

Day 3

The third thing I am grateful for would be my "kids" or pets. I prefer the term kids because they really are their own personalities. Both of my dogs are rescues, which showed up at the back gate of the place we were staying and essentially never left it. Basically they were going to die at that back gate if we didnt grab them. Since then we have had two personalities really grow out. Buddy is the black American Bulldog and Happy is the German Shepherd mix .

Day 4

One random but important thing I am grateful for and the one I put as number 4 would be my insatiable ability to learn anything and everything. I see my brain as a sponge and its soaking up information left and right. I will admit I have a preference for science but no subject is out of the picture. I have become a jack of all trades simply because I undertake the task at hand without a professional. My mindset is, that professional started from somewhere. Now although my profile name says Geo and Chem, I more enjoy physics and engineering and have a knack for fixing or building things.

Day 5


Image Author: Steemit.com, Image Source: Wikimedia Commons. Labeled for Public Domain

The fifth thing I am grateful for would be this platform and everyone I have met on it. @derekrichardson really pushed me to start writing posts. Derek drilled it into my head that I produce the best quality posts possible. I was told not to leave out details, and most importantly, source correctly. Once in the groove of things, large upvotes started coming in from @curie and @steemstem as well as several other profiles. To this day I continue to get support for the content I put forth for everyone to enjoy. I also have had the pleasure of meeting awesome scientist such as @procrastilearner and @lesshorrible, who enjoy a ton of similar subjects as I do.

As my involvement grew Derek as well as @rt395 decided to set up a local group, @socalsteemit. Since its inception the group has grown by leaps and bounds and has introduced me to a multitude of great personalities. I would not be writing this post if @mariannewest (head of the socalsteemit San Diego branch) had not nominated me. I continue to be intrigued and surprised by the new individuals who join as well as the kindness of those who are a part of socalsteemit.

Day 6

The sixth thing I can be thankful for is LIFE. Without my parents help I would not be here, or be as well off as I am. I cant tell you how many times I have cheated death and often think he/she will come to get their dues one day. Starting with the picture above, as a young child I had a cyst the size of a softball growing around my stomach and barely got out of it alive. I was on feeding tubes for weeks. My second brush with death was when I was found at the bottom of my parents pool and non responsive. Thankfully I was resuscitated and my parents started on building a gate around the new pool they had put in. In the mid 80's there was not a huge push to keep children safe from drowning in pools. The picture below shows the gate surrounding the pool as it sits today. If you go back in my blog I also bring up how I was left for dead by a hit and run driver so by that time I was used to the concept.

Day 7


Image author: spirit111, Image source: Pixabay. CC0 Creative Commons

It might be funny but yes I am grateful for space, the universe and all that is around us. I saved this for day seven as it encompasses everything and everyone. From the moment I was young I always looked up at the stars and imagined. Space truly is the last frontier. I would like to leave everyone with this quote "We are all made of stardust".

Thank you all for reading everything that I am grateful for. I hope it gets you thinking about whats important in your life. I nominate three people to please keep this going: @creationofcare, @madpotters, and @steemseph. If you feel you would rather do it the way I did then feel free.

The rules:
  • Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)

  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated

  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.

  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.

All photos, unless otherwise stated or sourced, were taken by @csusbgeochem1 and may not be reused without permission. Animations and cover photo created by @csusbgeochem1 using GIMP.

If you found this story interesting you can find more like it by following @socalsteemit and help us expand the Steemit community together

Join the SoCal Steemit Discord group today and meet others around you

Sort:  

This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!! Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

SCSreplybanner.jpg

Wow. Thank you so much for taking on the challenge and sharing yourself with us!! You really know how to cherish life and now, I know why!!! A brush with death three times!!!
I am so glad that you survived and that I know you!!!

Awesome, you just gave me a new idea, I could write all the 7 days challenge in one single post. I was nominated for the challenge at the beginning but couldn't find time to pen it down.

That's quite a journey thus far, I might start practicing gratitude as well as a habit.

These are all great reasons to be grateful! Steem on!

Thank you very much for making me your number 1 reason.
I love you very much to!

Thank you for the nomination! I gotta get this one done today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28