Life Of A Farmer ... Under Paid Yet Competitive !

in #life7 years ago

Credit

Every person on this Earth must have known about the Farmer. Because it's the only self-employment or should I say profession which gets recognition from almost everyone at a very young age. This profession exists since the beginning of civilization. We all need agriculture for our food requirement and farmers grows crops and perform every single things related to agricultural activities. Farmers accumulates a large percentage of population of the World, yet their life conditions are far from satisfactory.

There are some aspects of a Farmer's life which aren't known to many but everyone need to know this about Farmers.

Tough Life

Source

Farming doesn't include sitting on a chair and typing or doing some analysis on a laptop, rather it's far from that. A farmer has to work very hard to earn his living. Majority of the farmers in this World lives under poverty line, basically means a large no. of farmers are poor and barely earns their living despite they provide the most important thing to humans - FOOD. Apart from hard work and sleepless nights, they have to depend on weather for the growth of their crops, which don't always come in their favor and sometimes they lost all of their crops in rain, drought, untimely monsoon, snowfall and much more. Irrespective of weather conditions, sometimes they have to do the regular ploughing and irrigation of fields, thus causing severe health conditions sometimes. 

So, I am pretty sure that a farmer's life is far from easy and they don't get what they deserves in the end. For this, they deserve a huge respect from people. 

Literacy

Source

Most of the farmers are below the line of literacy. The reason is basically the poverty in their families since the beginning of civilization. Most of the farmers can't read or write and because of that they can't get the proper initiatives which governments have provided them. Sometimes, because of their illiteracy they get mugged by some corrupt officials and they don't even understand their legitimate rights. Farmers mostly get cheated by the money-lenders because they are not able to understand their conditions and sometimes they pays more than they have to. 

Economic Factors

There are a lot of economic factors which affects the life of a farmer negatively. These economic factors mostly includes- low demand of crops, too much competition among crop dealers, change in governments policies regarding the subsidies provided to the farmer. 

Let's take an example - Farmers depends on crops for their survival. He grows crops, cultivate it and finally take it to the dealer to sell. Now he gets to know that there are no demand in the market for that particular crop and no dealer is ready to buy that crop, and if some agrees to buy that crop, he offers a comparatively low rate in the market. Now, the farmer has two options- First, not to sell the crops and go back to his home, store their crops to sell for sometime later and until then starve in his house. Second- take the offered price and settle with what he gets, mugged during the whole process. 

So, I am pretty sure, you get the idea about the economic factors and how it affects the life of a farmer. 

Poor Hygiene And Sanitation

Source

Farmers have very little education about how to maintain a good hygiene. Infact, they don't even know the impurities of water they get from the traditional wells. So, they generally suffers from various health condition. Additionally, In India the sewage facilities are not so good in the villages, so they have to suffer from the poor Sanitation facilities as well.


All in all, Farmers deserves a huge respect from all people and their life is far from easy and comfortable. Therefore, In short- Life of farmer is Perverse yet Competitive. 

Thanks for reading.

Please Upvote , Comment and Resteem.

Sort:  

Very interesting, some good points made here. The way you write, it sounds like you have personal experience of this?

Cg

Yeah, I belong to a family where my father's profession was to deal in agricultural activities. Not as a farmer, but as a transporter. So, I know very well about the life of a farmer and complications of his life.
I am glad that you're recognising my writing potential @cryptogee. Wish you too a great success.

Aha! I thought so, you can really tell when someone writes about what is close to them. I'm sure that he has some great stories, I look forward to reading more of you, and hopefully some of his stories too.

Cg

For sure. I have a lot to write about myself and about the experiences of my father. So tune in. :)

I will remember this post when I think about complaining about my work.

Thank you @timbalabuch. I wish you all the success on steemit .

Great story! I grew up on a corn, soybean, and sunflower farm in Tennessee. I definitely agree that farmers deserve the utmost respect and appreciation. Thank you for writing this.

Thank you my friend @mantishands I am honored to meet you. I really do respect all the farmers and definitely I have a great deal of respect for you also . Wish you all the success.

Yes,,, I like,

Thank you @eureka9 . I am glad you could relate with my thoughts.

Very interesting - resteeming

Thanks a lot @anneke . I am glad you could relate to it .


This post got a 0.67 % upvote thanks to @cryptonet - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25