Midnight Removals And An Old Lady

in #life5 years ago


source

My house in Durban has been a little vulnerable lately and has had some visitors over the last few days. My tenants in the main house have been in the States for the last week and a bit and are back on Sunday.

The insurance company hasn't been able to complete the repairs from the storm damage yet for two reasons. Firstly the tree fellers delayed everything for around two weeks as they work on African time and are obviously not a proper business but a few locals with a chainsaw. I am guessing as he gave me a missed call and sent me a message to please phone him. Not very professional and I had a full go at him telling him what I thought. He is lucky I am not there as there was an urgency before they left on their trip.

The other reason is an interfering old lady who happens to be part of the family on my wifes side. The aunt who can't stop talking that you try and dodge at all costs. She is not that bad, but can be irritating at the best of times.(Family not on Steem as you may have guessed). She said no builders whilst she is on her own and has put the brakes on getting the house fixed. She make me mad as the house is vulnerable and it is dangerous right now. She never thought of that two weeks ago and now she is worried. The house will be fine though as I have heaps of security with beams and alarms and only the electric fence is not working currently due to the storm damage.

Over the last two nights a group of no gooders has tried to disconnect the gate motor and move the gate to make access for a vehicle. That means only one thing and it is not good. Midnight removals coming to break in and clean you out. The good thing is they couldn't move the gate and the motor is just out of reach for this very reason.

I have never had any issues when I was staying there and some people just attract attention without even knowing they are doing it. I am sure they are all tucked up in bed at the same time every night which is what a crook would love to see. I would put money on it that it is possibly the tree fellers and would be my first point of call if the house gets broken into tonight or tomorrow. Lets hope they have given up and find something easier.

Sort:  

So the people who rent this property off you have gone off while it is relatively easy access to thieves? Sounds like you are having a pain of a time remotely organizing repairs - I hope it works out ok in the end.

Posted using Partiko iOS

They arrived back yesterday so now the repair work can continue so I can sell it finally. Been a headache as it is delaying the sale which they don't even know yet. They have forced my hand as the bills have become excessive and the last one was a water leak which they left for a few weeks.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I hope you and yours are safe. How about a loud dog in the future.

I hope you and yours
Are safe. How about a loud
Dog in the future.

                 - tbnfl4sun


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I rent this house out. I have a big dog and will always have one as I love the Mastiff breed. I think they have a Rottweiler, but is useless if they aren't trained properly. They just poison them with a poison called two step. For me what they have done is just stupid. If you go away you get friends to come and stay to look after your things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89