Conquering My Fear Today - Gratitude #38steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Image source
Remember I went shopping at Ikea on Sunday? Well, on the way home we stopped by Craftiviti at 10 Boulevard. Craftiviti, as the name implies, sells all kinds of supplies for crafts. That’s where I get some of my DIY stuff. I bought two spray bottles but as luck would have it one of the bottles didn’t work so I had to take it back to change it.


Okay, here comes my story / confession for today. I have an intense, indescribable fear of getting lost (alone of course). Wherever I go I make sure there’s someone with me or I don’t go! I think it got worse as I got older 😰

Before I got married I did drive to work alone. I learned the route and made sure I used the same way every single day. One fine day there was a toad block and we were detoured! 😰😰😰 I gave a taxi driver the address to my office and followed him there.


Image source

I’m okay in Subang Jaya. I even know some back roads that my sisters don’t know about! But take me out of Subang Jaya or put me in a large shopping mall all by myself and I’ll freeze and sweat bullets! I’m not joking!

Many many moons ago when my parents were still living in Klang a friend of mine showed me a short-cut from my parents’ place to hers. It was some small dirt road and seemed pretty easy to remember. The next time I wanted to visit her I got lost. I drove for miles along a different dirt road with palm trees along one side and open land on the other. Scary thoughts started creeping into my mind and I almost cried!

Once when my sisters came back from the UK we decided to visit KLCC, in two cars. I drove one car and another sister drove her car. This sister cannot understand this fear of mine and is very impatient with me, even angry.

I followed her car to KLCC but when it was time to leave she didn’t wait for me, she just left. I sat in my car, in the car park, with my sister from the UK, and cried. My sister told me to calm down and prayed. She’ll get us home (she used to work in KL). Even with all the changes in the road system she managed to direct us home 🙏🏻❤

This morning I texted @branlee87 and asked him if he could drive me to 10 Boulevard. But I changed my mind and decided I could do this by myself. I’ve been down this road so many times (though not alone) I should be able to do it. And I did! I tell you, fear was crawling through my veins all the way there and back! But I did it! 😁😅


Pretty heavy traffic at 10.38am


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/07/18/conquering-my-fear-today-gratitude-38/

Sort:  

Very proud of you. Yeah, not many will understand this fear and they'll just accuse you of being lazy or a quitter. But they don't know how hard it is just to even do what you did by going to 10 boulevard on your own. I really believe it's a form of anxiety and/or irrational fear. You can tell someone who's afraid of cockroaches that it's nothing to be afraid of and that they're harmless but it doesn't mean shit because they have a real phobia of them.

Exactly! Thanks! 😘

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86