Why I Consecrate My Rudraksha Seed Meditation Bead Necklace.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I wrote a post a while back about why I wear a rudraksha seed necklace sometimes and especially when I travel. Every six months the beads are meant to be consecrated with first ghee and then whole milk. I thought it would be nice to document the process in a follow up post.

In the previous post some science was presented along with my personal experiences wearing a rudrasksha. I do not want to reiterate on that as it is already documented. Instead I will just be taking a more about what consecration is and how to consecrate your rudraksha.

Step one is to leave the necklace in ghee for 24 hours, afterward wipe it off with a cloth and rinse with cold water.

Step two is to leave the necklace in whole milk for 24 hours, afterward wipe it off with a cloth and rinse with cold water.

So what does this do?

To be honest I have no idea and am far out of my realm. Lately I have decided to give into the awe of life a little bit and enjoy the ride. I will credit steemit a bit as my perception increased from all the writing and profound social connections. There is something going on with this experiment though the implications might not be seen for some time.

Consecration is simply declaring something sacred by definition. Given that there is an actual process for the rudraksha that leads me to believe there are similar processes for other things. My guru sometimes mentions entire cities long ago that were consecrated, imagine what that would be like.

I have always wanted to carve out a corner of the house and make it sacred space. This is kind of hard with a house full of kids though. Might look into consecrating my whole house and see what that entails. Used to be a person that did not believe of anything outside of a five sense reality, with time thought that has changed.

Eventually you see enough inexpiable things and have a fair share of close calls to believe in something greater. Our favorite quote is "its all connected". I will follow up in the comments on how the necklace turns out. Not sure how familiar you are will ghee but it stinks, bad. I compare it to the smell of dirty socks and that is accurate to the reality.

Below are some videos from Sadhguru explaining rudraksha:

Thank you for reading and taking the time to upvote and comment!

badge1badge2SteemVerifybadge3badge4

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87