You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: And So Ends The Day Of Zero Platitudes

in #life5 years ago (edited)

"No more doormat Kat!" Good for you Kat! Life is too short to let anyone put you down. If you don't stand up for yourself people will just walk all over you. It's human nature.

I'm often a soundboard for my friends and family. Two reasons: 1. I'm a good listener and will let someone vent out their problems. Sometimes you just need to get it out of your system. 2. I can keep a secret. I don't tell anybody anything they don't need to know. My gang knows this well so I usually end up hearing about everything going on.

But at the same time, my gang also knows they can't come to me looking for pity. I'll let them air anything out, but if they want my opinion it will be a honest one. I'm not the guy that will simply tell you what you want to hear. That doesn't help anybody. So sometimes I become the "bad guy". I can live with it. I'll tell them you can be mad at me all you want, but I'm moving past this. Nobody has abandoned me yet, so I guess I'm not all "bad".

Sort:  

Thanks Chops! The worst part of the whole behavioral thing is that I only let people walk all over me if they were close to me or family. Ugh.

I admire that you can be a soundboard without being a doormat. I am getting there, and it is kind of nice to have gotten to the point that I truly don't mind being the bad guy. I'm actually pretty cool with people being mad at me these days, I still love them, I am just not going to patronize their BS towards me anymore. Guess I could have just said I want to be like you when I grow up ;o)

Hope you are having a fantastic weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17