Running & More - My Good End to a Long, Stressful Day

in #life6 years ago

20180703_203630.jpg
After an 8 plus hour day on your feet and caregiving for work, it can be hard to give yourself the care you need. This is irregardless of whatever line of work you're in. You can just be completely zonked after work. In fact, today was such a day, that I almost didn't exercise. But, I am so glad I did.

As you can see I got a 5 km run in. I had some speedy intervals and felt pretty decent overall. The weather was warm, but not too hot.

I recently discussed my desire to improve my upper body and grip strength. So far I have been doing that by working on hanging abdominal work which is amongst my favorite and is very effective. I did hanging knee ups 20 rep x 3 and then 15 rep x 2 of the "twist", like so:
7212c9c830e79b7b69d050e004101667.gif
(pinterest derived image)
I'm sure I'll be feeling this tomorrow because you have to engage the upper body to "hang" there. My grip already seemed a little better today.

I want to emphasize how great exercise is for mental health. Even if you don't "feel" like it, light exercise such as a brisk ten minute walk, etc can really help you feel better & the health benefits are numerous. So, dont waste an opportunity to improve your health. =)
received_10213668943096120.jpeg
join steemit dreamit on Facebook!

Sort:  

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Hey I'm really liking the running app called Strava, have you tried it?

No but i heard its good, so i should

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13