Personal Success Story on How I am Controlling my (C)PTSD Symptoms

in #life6 years ago

PTSD.jpg

Hello my Steemians,
Today I would like to share with you how I personally, am controlling my (C)PTSD symptoms. First off, I think we all know what PTSD is. However, not all people actually understand the difference between PTSD and (C)PTSD is. The (C) = complex.

PTSD = generally caused by a singular (one time) traumatic event - like a natural disaster, or being mugged. Considered by some people to be "easier" to "get over."
Important I do not think either type of PTSD is easy or even possible to "get over"

(C) PTSD = generally caused by a series of related and/or unrelated events. Generally (But not always) has roots into childhood.

Now that we have made that distinction, it's time for me to open up to you, my esteemed readers, in a way I have opened to only few. I have complex post traumatic stress disorder. I am 29, almost 30, and was diagnosed at age 24, but knew I had it as early as 17-18 years old.

Mine is from multiple, unrelated issues. Had any one of those issues "decided" not to occur, I could be a completely different person. I am not going to dwell on that though because guess what? I was not in control of any of it.

Shitty things can happen to anyone. I am not the "champion" sufferer here. The only thing I can control is MYSELF, MY behaviour, MY treatment, MY recovery.

Being real, my issues stem from:

  • Multiple deaths of people very close to me who lost their lives for no good reasons. First one happened 12/21/2003. Best friend and dad gone in a car accident. Dad died on the scene. Best friend, 6 hours later after being medically evaced.
  • domestic violence exposure
  • childhood abuse
  • sexual assault survivor (notice I used survivor, not victim)

I have used drugs (to include "hard drugs"/street drugs), alcohol, & other adverse ways to cope with my problems. I have entertained suicide (AKA, I have experienced suicidal ideations.) No attempts, just thoughts & I am not currently having them.

I've exhausted all methods of coping. There is not one sure fire way of dealing with (c) ptsd. Ot is a super fine balance that I certainly haven't yet acheived of:

  • really knowing your triggers
  • understand flashbacks (sometimes you don't know you are experiencing one.) To an outsider seeing someone in an active flashback, the following may be assumed: "oh, that person is a lunatic", "they're on something", "they're weird", "they're just being rude".....ETC!
  • exercise - running helps me a lot, although I also enjoy other forms of exercise such as yoga.
  • keeping to a routine
  • art
    -nature & fresh air
  • eliminating toxic guilt
  • good nutrition - very challenging
  • My cat ♡♡
    16177.jpeg

That is by no means an all inclusive list. I've had limited success with counseling, and am currently trying that again. I am OFF anti-depressants. I was on those for years all they did was cause me to self limit and become numb. I am still on pharmaceutical grade sleeping & anxiety meds prescribed to me. But that is better than also being on the anti-depressants in my humble opinion.

I also in the past two months, with great skepticism initially I might add, tried nutraceuticals hemp paste. Why? Because a respected Steemian and now friend of mine ( @web-gnar ) introduced me to it.
hemp-paste.png

This product is unlike others as it is based off the synergistic or entourage effect - uses the entire hemp plant to acheive it's medicinal effect. It is also helpful for:

Pain Relief
Inflammation
Anxiety
Antidepressant
Reduction in blood sugar levels
Seizures and convulsions
Immune system support
Nausea and vomiting
Inhibits cancer cell growth
Reduces risk of artery blockage
Slows bacteria growth
Muscle spasms
Cardiovascular health
Skin conditions such as psoriasis and acne
PTSD symptom relief
Bone growth
Antibacterial and antioxidant

QUESTION OF THE HOUR: HOW HAS IT HELPED WITH YOUR PTSD CHELSEA??

It has helped me to better recognize symptoms of reliving trauma, flashbacks, focusing, & moving forward. Those are all huge. I lost a close friend to sucide related to her being unable to cope with her own (c) ptsd. So if I can help anyone, I do. Check out the products for yourself:
http://mynutraceuticals.com/chelsea88

If you have any questions for me, maybe I can help. I have basically been dealing with my symptoms since childhood, more fully manifesting around age 14 or 15. Or if you want to share anything here, go ahead. I love interacting with you all.

Live fully & happy my Steemians.

Photo = My own
images = Google image

Sort:  

Wow, i just now stumbled on this. Im curious about trying hemp rub for chronic pain. Excercize is the devil! But i need to make friends wif the devil apparently. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and experience!! Please dm me on discord limabeing #2123 !

Will do! And your welcome. We do sell hemp cream for a topical application

🤖💬 This post has received a 14.29 % upvote from @dab4dab sponsored by @netgodbeerus

ISeeKush-Dab4Dab-SocialMediKit-Twitter-Profile-400x400px_FullLogo-03

Join our Cannabis Curation Team

Most appreciated @dab4dab

Yeah my ex husband suffers from PTSD big time. He had a really shitty childhood full of abuse and trauma as well and now any little bit of stress is really hard for him to deal with. Like he gets explosive. Marijuana seems to help him when he has it but when he doesn't he slips into a really deep depression, like I'm a waste of space and my life is a waste of time, kind of depression. I always told him to go to therapy and talk to someone so he could get some sort of way of learning to cope with his issues but of course he only would go for one session and never go again, saying it wasn't going to help and it was a waste of time. It was always a struggle and I didn't like seeing him so stressed out and wound up all the time. x_x

Oh let's not even pretend this disorder is easy on spouses or family members. My dad had it too from combat & his own effed up childhood. I commend you for trying so hard. Thanks for sharing this.

Looks like you are doing all the right things. What motivates me is to remind myself that my life can be over this minute. This makes me over come my fears to get out and live. I understand a body's screwed up chemistry can prevent recovery. Exercise and diet key.

Good you are off anti-depressants. Get off sleeping aids and anxiety med as quick as you can.

I know easy for me to say. But it has to be done. Trust your mind to get you through low points.

And when you have a bad day, always remember I'll have tomorrow to take another wack at it.

Thank you so much. It will be very hard for me to get off the sleep aid & klonopin. I have been on it for years, unfortunately. Thanks again for the kind & supportive comment.

We just had a little conversation about this... it’s no fun.

https://steemit.com/dsound/@paulmoon410/im-sorry-paul-moon-with-z-e-k-e

Ill check your link out soon.
And you're right it sucks.
When I get samples I will give you some.

🤖💬 This post has been Boosted with a 9.22 % upvote from @cannabiscurator Plugged in by @netgodbeerus

I can Help You Pay It Forward and Steem your fellow 🎁💁Steemian back. Simply Transfer 0.042 to @cannabiscurator and the 420 Steemit Post ⛓Link you want 🔼 Upvoted in the Memo.

Join our Cannabis Curation Team

More details @ https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@cannabiscurator/let-s-grow-the-cannabis-community-together

Steemian Stoner Squad 🙏Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow our Cannabis community on Steemit. Your support helps increase the 💪value of my 🔼 contributions.

small_man.png

Peace in Blunts Fam 🔥💨

🤖💬 This post has received a 8.33 % upvote from @iseekush sponsored by @netgodbeerus

Join our Cannabis Curation Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04