What I learned from my train-wreck relationship...

in #life7 years ago


So I mainly create gaming content and I will be sticking to that for the entirety of my stay here on Steemit. But this is a social platform and a great way of communication, so why not just occasionally share my life experiences with other people - it might even help me dealing with what is currently at hand.

I'm going to share with you my relationship story, which ended not long ago. If you're not up for a decent read, I will be leaving a TL;DR at the bottom of the post for those who want to fast forward.

It all began when I went out on a sporting event with a couple of buddies. I met my soon to be girlfriend there, who was with a friend as well. We instantly clicked and then the drinking began, which lead to things getting a little bit funky, so to say. Nothing spectacular happened, we kissed, exchanged numbers and departed home after a couple hours of wildness. A week went past and we communicated on a daily basis, 24/7. Since I don't want you to get off track, I'm going to tell you the mistakes I made along the way.

The first huge deal-breaking mistake I made was mistaking affection for love. I thought I loved this girl at first sight, since I've never felt anything like what I felt those weeks. The butterfly feeling lasted for 3-4 months and after that everything started to settle down. It was still great - there were no quarrels, we mostly agreed on everything and just had a blast spending time with each other. But I soon came to realize that this person is not what I thought she was. Blindly following my feelings and attraction towards her, I didn't mind the virtues or bad habits the girl carries. She was a really, really beautiful girl and that's what I mostly paid attention to.

As time went on, things started to get a little bit shaky. We started arguing over things that I deem not worth fighting over, although she begged to differ. Over the course of these fights, I came to the realization that we have absolutely nothing in common apart passion or attraction towards one another. We tried so many times to talk everything out, but we always reached the same conclusion. Though the biggest problem that started growing on me was the fact that I did not want to be with this girl anymore. What I felt before the end was just attachment and we had to break up like two times every week until we finally understood that this can't go on any longer.

TL;DR: After a long relationship with my girlfriend, I realized that love did not exist from my part, only attachment. Also, the fact that we had nothing in common made the relationship a living hell, because it caused lots of quarrels, which lead the relationship to an end.

Honestly, I'm left wounded from this relationship, but it is a wound caused by myself. I had to learn the hard way that there's a difference in love and affection/passion. Only towards the end of the relationship I started accepting the fact that we had nothing in common and there's only one outcome possible. I learned that there should never be any rush in choosing the right partner for yourself, as there could be a lot of time wasted. Though it was an experience which I've learned a lot from.

This post is seriously long and I don't expect anyone to read it all, but writing this made me feel a little bit better. So thank you Steemit for the ability to spill out my thoughts.


@cheaky

Sort:  

While you're in a relationship you fill your head with lies that everything is alright even if everything is wrong. In the end, at least you get some experience from a bad relationship...

Yeah, that is what happened to me. Lesson learned though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04