Not fitting in the boxes : How living in Bali changed me and thaught me

in #life7 years ago

You know how Europeens like to put people in boxes and how you are supposed to follow a way-of-life indicated by the society : study, work, retire...
Well, I never really fitted in tose boxes and since I am living in Bali , I met a lot of person you don't fit them as well.

20273723_10213864487313231_1793438831_o.jpg

When I moved to Bali, I expected what everyone expect, blue sky, golden sand and zero-stress life. But what I didn't expected was all the other good things that Bali and It's people teach me, how much I will learn and realise about life, well-being, food, environment, way of thinking, etc...

Bali has something magical, something special. There is somethging about It's people and It's expats too.
Everyone seems to be more relax, open-minded, a bit more different than the usual Europeens persons I grow up surrounded with .

I met so many inspiring people here, that taught me or gave me the willing to teach myself.

Those inspiring people people opened my mind and my eyes about this world and make me realise that I am not the only one not fitting in boxes.

19840575_10213704346309806_508421014_o.jpg

What I change and find people in Bali that support me in this changes :

1 )
This consumer society that we live in seems to me and more and more unrealistic :
I think years after years I am buying less and less. Now I always think twice before buying something, Do I really need that or not ?
Buying less saves me money and save space at home, So It's all for good !!

2
Avoiding supermarkets
I realise just a few years ago that I was eating so much process food that soon enought It will leave me full of diseases.
I find pretty easy in Bali to go to local markets and buy everything from there , I only go to shops when I need to buy cleaning goods or craving French food : butter or cheese, of course.
Otherwise I find everything I need at markets .
I end up eating much healthier ( bye bye cakes , welcome fruits ) and much cheaper . Also much closer from my place. Makes my life much more simple actually

campuhan-ridge-walk-ubud-bali-indonesia-h-rice-fields-along-the-campuhan-ridge.jpg

3
Probably lots of you will disagree but I don't have travel insurance or health care since at least 5 years now . I find funny to give money all your life to a company and finally ask a big part back when you sick .
I just try not to be sick and keep saving in case. I don't like the idea that my money will help some rich people being even richer . It is true that in case of sickness It will be helpfull to have this health care giving cash to the hospital so you don't have to worry about payment. Well, If I ever get sick, I will use the money that I keep saving instead of giving It to insurance.

4
Better than taking pills to heal yourself , keep healthy by eating fresh, honest food .
I said bye, bye to pills and drugs and hello to fresh fruits and vegs . When I ever feel tired I just load myself with kiwis, oranges and guava. Best medicine ever.

5
Stoping watching TV to stop consuming .
I never been a TV person and never had TV wherever I leave since 8 years !! And never missed It !!
To me TV is pushing people to buy by showing advertiseement for processed food and goods all day long .
If I ever feel like relaxing I buy a good DVD, at least I choose what I watch .

banner-top-sanur-morning-market.jpg

All those things seems to me easier to do in Bali than in Europe, maybe because people are more open-minded and free here.
Maybe because there is no such things as putting people in 'boxes' here and maybe because people who choose to live in Bali don't fit in those boxes either .

If you feel like commenting, please do so .

Caroline

Sort:  

Indeed Caro, we have to do nice studies, to have a good work, to be able to buy what you want and work like that all your life. And where you are too old to work, you will try to enjoy the last years of your life.

This is really something I realized here in europe and that I'm fighting against since so many times now. But yeah... really not easy to be outside the box as you call it hehe.

Thank you again for share. The world is so beautiful to discover... Open all your mind and take care

Thank you for your beautiful answer .
All the best

Great post,probably the best,simplest introduction to steem iv'e come across.

Your dedication to steem is amazing,I think you would make a perfect witness,you've got my vote.

Well done and keep up the good work. @carodebali

Thank you so much

Not living "in a box" has never been so simplified in a "how to" get out of it if you feel like your living in one. ;)
Thanks for the advise to those who are currently doing so. ;D

I just say that in Europe we like to make people believe that they have to do the same as everyone else: study, work and retire and pretty much live the same way of life as taught by TV and media. It is very strong in France .

You really have a good point here @carodebali . I guess this is something that the modern first world countries have lost - back to the basics.

Inspiring! I guess the best part in it is not the way you live your life- "out of the box"- but how comfortable you feel with yourself now, and how untied you seem to be. I also left France for Norway and although one is more free to be him- herself here, I haven't reached so far your obvious well-being. Yeah, definitely inspiring :) @carodebali

Merci pour le commentaire,bonne chance à toi en Norvège !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48