Inflatable Kayak For £70!? Very Happy With My Purchase

in #life7 years ago

IMG_4860.jpg

Ever since I first tried canoeing on a school trip to France I've liked it, but never had the chance to do it regularly or own my own boat until now. At the beginning of this year I moved into a new house which is close to the river that runs through my city. This played no part in me choosing the house but soon after I realised that I was close to a couple of places where it would be easy to get a boat in. My house doesn't have a great deal of storage space and the distance between it and the river is slightly too great to carry a heavy plastic boat so the idea of buying something had gone to the back of mind until recently when by chance I saw some people using an inflatable kayak.

My first reaction to the idea of owning an inflatable was one of scepticism, but I decided to have a look online nonetheless. I found one on Amazon which had fantastic reviews and only cost £70 ($100) complete with paddle and pump. Surely one this cheap would be awful!? However after watching a couple of youtube reviews made by owners who had nothing but praise for them I decided to bite the bullet and take the plunge (hopefully not literally).

When it arrived I tested it out by inflating it in my living room. It was surprisingly easy to assemble and I had the whole thing up and ready within 5 minutes. Deflating it however was slightly harder and I have only just got the hang of it. There always seems to be a little bit of air trapped somewhere. It comes with a carry bag which fits the boat, seat, pump, paddle and footrest with room to spare. You would never imagine that everything fits inside but it does and with room to spare, and only weighs about 10kg so it's quite easy to carry down to the river and back.

Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 13.17.25.png

I tried it a couple of times by myself, and as I was nervous about using an inflatable on the river I left my phone at home and wore a life jacket, I was half expecting to fall in or for the boat to get a disastrous puncture. Surprisingly it was totally fine, not only was it stable but it was also faster than I was expecting. After hearing my praise for the inflatable bargain my buddy who also lives by the river bought one too and we went on an epic 8 hour pub crawl into the city centre where we ended up being filmed for Japanese TV!

IMG_4753.jpg

IMG_4770.jpg

IMG_4776.jpg

IMG_4792.jpg

...It was great fun but a few hours of paddling combined with cider can be tiring. I suppose it doesn't help that the kayak is made by an inflatable mattress company Zzzzz

IMG_4800.jpg

A few days later we took the boats out again and this time headed in the opposite direction away from the city. It was more tranquil and there were a lot of scenic countryside views, there were a couple of parts that looked like we could have been in the Amazon! (maybe a slight exaggeration).

IMG_4847.jpg

We arrived at a mill where it appeared we could not go any further, but next time we'll try to get around it, it can't be too hard! On the way back we were talking and my friend who is a known windup merchant at times was insisting that turtles lived in the river here but I didn't believe him at all and assumed he was just joking. Then literally one minute later we saw one sitting on a floating log, what a coincidence! Maybe he was joking and this was just an escaped pet? Who knows!

IMG_4867.jpg

If you want to check out the kayak it's the Intex Challenger K1, here is an Amazon link http://amzn.to/2uQ67Mu

More kayaking adventures coming soon!

Sort:  

Niiiice Kayak!! I hope your great blogs manage to eventually pay for the price of the device! Thanks for your support on my post! Upvoted!

No problem mate thanks a lot for your comment and support too! I'm following so that I can keep an eye on your future Steemit promo activities, if you're ever coming to East Anglia give me a shout!

:)) Will do!

I love kayaking. I used to ride this type of Kayak Boats in Indian River.

Nice article! I love to kayak! I can't imagine kayaking on a river next to or through a city. Here in Missouri, we float down rivers in the middle of the wilderness, haha ;) That must be quite a sight! Thanks for sharing your photos and nicely written article :)

Congratulations @captaincanary! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05