Berry Cream Breakfast - Living Raw Journal Day #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Berry Cream BreakfastThis morning's breakfast was so amazing, I had to have photographic evidence.

We agreed to go raw for 30 days, relying on a book called Living On Live Food. This morning, I wasn’t sure what we’d eat for breakfast, because our old standard (steel cut oats) didn’t fit into the new plan. So I paged through the book and found a recipe for berries and cream.

Recipe from Living On Live FoodThis is the original recipe that inspired this morning's breakfast.

I customized the recipe for my family of five. I used an equal ratio (about 1.5 cups) of four simple ingredients:

  • Bananas
  • Blueberries
  • Cashews
  • Mango (frozen)

Blueberries Mango and CashewsOur best breakfast ever consisted of the simplest ingredients, and a 5-minute prep time.

In a food processor, I ground the cashews into a fine powder, and then added the mango, blending until smooth and creamy–almost exactly like ice cream! Then I scooped the cool “cream” into bowls, with berries and banana slices. And voila, delicioso!

Interestingly, these living ingredients are so potent and rich that they satisfied each of our appetites with just a tiny amount of ingredients. I mean, our kids typically devour bowl after bowl of cereal, with no end to their hunger. Can you believe what an improvement this is? The two youngest kids even had a bit leftover afterward. This is one of our greatest successes in breakfast so far as a family.

Breakfast OutdoorsWe enjoyed breakfast outside on the porch this morning.

Living Raw

Where are we at in the process of living on raw foods?

We're newbies–minnows, you might say. We've tried this before, but we hadn't invested the energy into learning the art of raw food living until just a few days ago. Honestly, until now, we haven't committed entirely to the vegan way, or even the vegetarianism way. We were “flexitarians,” eating what arrives graciously and lovingly, including an occasional meat as a treat.

So this is officially Day #1 of our “Living Raw” journey. We gave ourselves a gradual introduction to raw food feasts these past few nights, and our bodies are already buzzing! Last night I realized I didn't need as much sleep, and I woke up feeling alert and refreshed. All raw and rockin!

Breakfast OutdoorsI and our 2-year-old, Gabriel, scoped out the hummingbirds hovering around outside after breakfast.

And Then Something Funny Happened!

We discovered who messed up the blinds in the kids' bedroom: the cats!!

We thought it was the kids, but early this morning we caught the cats wrestling on the windowsill. When our 4-year-old daughter, Rosalie, saw me recording the cats, she said, "I wanna photo punch it," meaning she wants to photo bomb the cats. So, she did. :)

Who Messed Up The Blinds

Note: This video is published on #DTube–the exciting new video platform for Steemians, introduced a few days ago by @heimindanger. Here's the official intro: Introducing DTube.


All content is original, by @cabelindsay.

Sort:  

I love your post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.

I do appreciate your upvote, thank you. Yes!

That looks really delicious.

I couldn't believe it. The cashew-mango “cream” is like a fine ice cream, subtly sweet. Delicious, yes!

This is a cool post. Glad you're trying a new thing. I tried a raw diet once for about a month and ate cooked dinners only. I feel like it was good for my body. Hope you enjoy it!

Feeling good so far! Thanks for your encouragement.

Delicious breakfast and fun video....cats are such a cute troublemaker lol

:) Yeah, we just adopted these two kittens and it's amazing how much trouble they're getting into. Good thing they're so cute! How nice of you to resteem this post. Thank you.

Congratulations @cabelindsay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05