Pumpkins, Pumpkins Everywhere!! Thanksgiving traditions!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This weekend is Canadian Thanksgiving and our family is in full fall fun mode. The fall is one of our favourite times of the year. The temperature is great and the changing of the leaves is always beautiful. October also brings Thanksgiving and Halloween which are two holidays that our family enjoy the most. It is also my daughter’s birthday this week and she is a huge Halloween lover. You know the fall has arrived at our house when you see the outside of our house start to change.


IMG_1769.JPG

Yesterday, we jumped into full fall mode and decided to head out to the find the perfect decor to spruce up our house for the season. This started with a trip to the Pumpkin Patch. Well, not so much the patch but just beside it where all the pumpkins have been organized for people to seek out that perfect pumpkin. You know the one I am talking about. The pumpkin that has the perfect size and shapes for carving out fun designs and Jack-o-lanterns.


IMG_1767.JPG

There are pumpkins of all shapes and sizes there which is great because the perfect pumpkin is different for everyone. As they say, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Some like the perfectly round ones while others like them to be tall. This was the first year that we saw the white pumpkins and the kids were excited to see them.


IMG_1755.JPG

They even had pumpkins that were too big for me to even lift. These were so cool and would have looked amazing in front of the house. I seriously considered buying one of these 100 plus pound pumpkins but thought better of it when I looked ahead to the cleanup and disposal time.


IMG_1766.JPG

The owners of the market made the pumpkin search extra fun with the inclusion of some special items along the way. You would get the impression that there had been a pumpkin tragedy as the perfect rows and piles of pumpkins were being created.


IMG_1757.JPG


IMG_1754.JPG


IMG_1753.JPG

We also explored the veggie market and about ourselves some amazing fresh vegetables. I was even more intrigued by some of the strange and interesting types of squash. Some of them I wanted to buy just because of how cool they looked.


IMG_1749.JPG

One of my favourite purchases yesterday was the gourds that now decorate our kitchen table. I have always enjoyed the look of these during the fall season. Especially the decorative corn.


IMG_1772.JPG

Finally, we picked up our favourite fall decoration. Mums are a fall staple in front of our house and we are big fans of the tri-coloured pots. Costco sells the most amazing mums every year and so we ventured into the nightmare that is Costco on Saturday to acquire the flowers that we so adore. We couldn't be more pleased.


IMG_1771.JPG

Happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian friends. I hope you have a wonderful weekend and holiday with your families.

Sort:  

Been a rough season for those broncos, not as bad as my cards

Man, It is getting tough to watch. LOL Cards got a win today though.

Oh how cooool! Happy Thanksgiving Bronco! 💜

We only get the white pumpkins here, we don’t get the orange ones, isn’t that funny?

I love your table decor, so festive!

Happy birthday to your girl! I can’t wait to see all your Halloween pics, and there better be some traditional Canadian Thanksgiving/cooking videos coming up!

Oh, wait til you see my Truducken video!!! Mmmmmmmm.

omg no! this is one dish Mork has always wanted to make and I say no... it's just so MERICA you know!

I bet your vid will change my mind 🤩

Wow! That is a lot of pumpkins!

I am ashamed to say I have never carved a pumpkin lantern in my life! I really ought to have a go this Halloween. I think you can get stencils and things to make awesome cutouts?

Plus I LOVE pumpkin soup so I really should give that a try too! :D

Oh yeah, you can find tons of them online. I will be posting our Halloween carving fun later this month.

Yey, can't wait to see them! :D

happy thanksgiving man. all the best to you and yours!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks my man!!!

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours Bronco.

It's not FAIR. I have to wait 7 weeks for Thanksgiving. Looks like you guys did a serious cool job on your decorating.

They actually sell mums here this time of year. Not that most anybody can figure out how to keep them alive. :)

Thank you sir!!! Not like the Americans and Canadians could ever do things at the same time. Lol

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

I love this time of year with mums and pumpkins and gourds. I'll be in the Uk when American Thanksgiving arrives, though another American will be about so I'm not sure if we will be doing it this year. But, I make up for the turkey eating at Christmas with turkey and goose and if I'm good, pheasant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84