Christianity, Martyrdom and Jesus' Apostles

in #life6 years ago

Recently, I found a church that I fell for, chiefly because it took Bible studies very serious. Extensive reading and studying of Bible passages is a core part of every of its service, and the teachings are rich and interactive. Lucky me, how I have longed for this! So now, I really look forward to Bible study sessions.

However, last Sunday I found an article in the church's weekly bulletin which left me confounded. The article listed the apostles of Jesus Christ (thirteen - including the Apostle Paul and Matthias and Bartholomew whom the apostles elected after Christ’s death), then it went on to discuss how each eventually died.

images (2).jpeg
The Lord's Supper

I found it a terrible read to say the least. And I bet you understand if you're familiar with the story already: of the 13 apostles, 12 died gruesome deaths after being subjected to varying forms of severe torture. The only exception was the Apostle John (the beloved), the writer of the book of Revelation. John died an old man even though he had gone through a torturous experience like the others. The good news is that he survived it.

Here is a quick recap:

Matthew was killed by a sword wound, Mark was dragged by horses on the streets to his death, Luke was hanged, John was boiled in hot oil and received lengthy imprisonment on the mines but he survived and lived till old age. I wonder in what condition!

Peter was crucified on a cross. James was thrown from a height of more than 100 feet, he was then beaten to death when his attackers saw that he survived it.

James (Son of Zebedee) was beheaded, Bartholomew was flayed
to death, Andrew was whipped and crucified on a cross, Thomas was stabbed with a spear, Jude was killed with arrows, Matthias was stoned then beheaded, and Paul was tortured following a lengthy imprisonment, and then beheaded.

Phew!

We read that the apostles had died gallantly nonetheless. Of course, because each had refused to deny his faith! The Apostle Peter had been impaled upside-down because he told his persecutors that he was unworthy to die in the same manner as Christ.

James (son of Alphaeus) was thrown from not just any height but the pinnacle of the temple where Satan had tempted Jesus himself years before - and he didn't die until he was clubbed to death.

The officer who guarded James (son of Zebedee) was so struck by the defence he put up at his trial that he became converted and knelt down to also be beheaded; and Andrew embraced crucifixion, then preached to his impalers for two days before he life left his body.

492px-Crucifixion_With_Scenes_of_Martyrdom_of_the_Apostles_by_Frans_Francken_the_Younger.jpg
The Crucifixion With Scenes of Martyrdom of the Apostles, 17th century painting

The article ends thus:
“Perhaps this is a reminder to us that our sufferings here are indeed minor compared to the intense persecution and cold cruelty faced by the apostles and disciples during their times For the sake of the Faith. And ye shall be hated of all men for my name’s sake. But he that endureth to the end shall be saved.” This is followed by some lines that I had seen repeatedly used (with little variations) in Christian-related whatsapp posts, suggesting that that had been the home of this article before it landed in the church's bulletin:

"Why do we feel sleepy in prayer but stay awake through a 3-hour movie? Why are we so bored when we look at the Holy Book but find it easy to read other books? Why are prayers getting smaller but bars and clubs are expanding? Why is it so easy to worship a celebrity but very difficult to engage with God?”

In my opinion this quote that has become cliché in Christian-related posts now makes light of situations where it would have provoked some deep thinking when it was first crafted.

The article had a profound effect on me. I had heard of the martyrdom of (some of) Jesus’ apostles but never have I seen it in so much detail, so plainly stated in black and white. 11 out of 12! (Let’s excuse Judas, shall we?) And the odd one out was not so odd - he had only escaped death by whiskers!

I became disturbed after reading the writing. Why would our loving God allow ALL loyal 12 apostles to go through such terrible experiences? Yes, Christ did, but must we all? What is the message to the world, to the unbelievers who witnessed these incidents, these scenes?

How about us? If this was what the apostles lived through, is our brand of Christianity today legit? Seriously, do we really have the right to claim the same rewards as the apostles, and perhaps some disciples of that era?

An there's so much confession of positives today:

“I am rich.” (Let the poor say I am rich)

“I am healed/strong.” (When we are actually bedridden.)

I shall be the head and not the tail.

I am a winner.

And of God’s promises...

“A thousand may fall at my side, And ten thousand at my right hand; But it shall not come near me…”

“Not a hair on my head will perish.”

We just have to believe that everything will be good, good , good. Just believe! And confess it! Are all of these true Christianity as practiced by our forerunners?

How about all of God’s promises of “I will be with you…” and that we will never have to encounter trials that are beyond our limits? Will God abandon us during distress?

When I first read the article, I was full of praise for my new church for consciously educating its members. However, soon after, I began to consider it irresponsible of the church to have culled it from a WhatsApp message and just plant it in the church's bulletin without editing it. Had it been checked at all?

Given my discomfort with the idea of death from martyrdom of 11 out of 12 Apostles, I began to query the authenticity of the information in the article. Did the Apostles actually die in the ways described? Shall we start with that before we begin to query God’s action or inaction? So I decided to do a little research of my own...

Join me in my next post as I discuss my findings.

Thanks for reading!
@boladayl

Sort:  

The deaths that the apostles died gave authenticity to the gospel. It was one of the reasons for the explosive growth of the church in the decades following the death and resurrection of Christ. There were probably a million Christians within decades.

Not only did the Apostles die gruesome deaths, Jesus gave them the power to perform miracles. The same kinds of miracles that Jesus performed. They could instantly raise the dead, heal the sick, give sight to the blind, make the deaf hear and the dumb to speak.

Paul said this:

(1 Corinthians 15:3-8 NIV) For what I received I passed on to you as of first importance : that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, {4} that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures, {5} and that he appeared to Peter, and then to the Twelve. {6} After that, he appeared to more than five hundred of the brothers at the same time, most of whom are still living, though some have fallen asleep. {7} Then he appeared to James, then to all the apostles, {8} and last of all he appeared to me also, as to one abnormally born.

The church grew exponentially at a time when hostile skeptics would have exposed Christianity as false if it was. But Christianity is true. There must have been a huge number of people who either saw a miracle or talked to those who had.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25