Friends in Dark Places

in #life6 years ago

7F36DA7D-71CF-4614-A41F-B10E51162B0E.jpeg

The last few days have been a bit of an emotional roller coaster. We had been working our butt’s off leading up to a ‘make or break’ pitch. It went well, but before we had time to celebrate life dealt another few blows to someone I care about a lot. Our team have been through a lot together lately, so when one of us is dealt a blow in life, we all feel it to a certain extent. I have never felt someone else’s pain quite like what I have in the last 48 hours.

The space that I work in means I talk about life and death pretty much all day. I’m comfortable with the conversation. There are some things you can’t prepare for though. There are some times that all you can do for a friend is cry with them.

Apart from crying together, the only other thing I could do for my friend yesterday, was to keep working. I was in a bit of shock, but I also had no idea how I was going to keep working with a crucial part of the team missing. I didn’t really know what to do, but also felt strongly that I should do something.

Then something really cool happened. I bumped into a woman who I couldn’t have more respect for if I tried. I didn’t feel like I was equipped for her level of intellect yesterday, but she knew what was happening. She and another colleague showed me just the right balance of support and tough love. People who have no involvement with our business but are aligned with our purpose have stepped in to help.

I want to be clear because of the title of this post, that I’m not in a dark place. It has been a big few days that’s all, and has got me thinking.

Sometimes when people are in dark places it can be difficult to see the support you have available. That doesn’t mean they aren’t there. Sometimes all you really need to find is your voice. Once you find your voice, your friends will find you.

Photo credit: Pixabay

Sort:  

It's true that sometimes when we are in a dark place makes as difficult see things around us but without darkness of the night we won't be able to see the stars shining.

"People who have no involvement with our business but are aligned with our purpose have stepped in to help."

It's a pretty amazing thing when that happens. Tragedy can have a way of bringing people together. I hope everyone pulls through ok.

Hi @buggedout 😊

It’s always nice to have you stop by and comment. I think everyone will be ok, thanks.

It is a really special thing when people come together isn’t it. Very humbling.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04