Lilianfels & Darleys : Blue Mountains (Engagement Destination) Part 1

in #life7 years ago

Feeling such a sense of pride for my home town after this post that I want to show off my "hood" a bit more.

Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, located in Katoomba is a multi award winning venue. Well known for it's restaurant Darleys, it is also where we got engaged :)

We've been wanting to do the Darleys degustation for a while but between the cost of moving up, saving for a house and renting we kept putting it on the To Do list.

I wish I can tell you getting engaged was a surprise. It wasn't - I knew my ring was being made and I knew just about how long that ring was gonna take.

Hey. I waited 10 years! Don't judge me! LOL

What I didn't know was where we were going. I was told to pack overnight stuff and to take the bath bombs :D

He drove up to Katoomba, stopped at several places to throw me off, did a lap around Echoes and Lilianfels before he finally drove into the very well manicured premises of Lilianfels. (YES!!! Good man!!)

I gotta give it to the staff. They didn't let on that they knew he was proposing, but they sure went out of their way to make everything perfect.

Walking into our room I thought wow big room...

Not a room! It's a suite! Brother brought his A game! (Good on him!)

I cant find the photo of the you beaut Nespresso machine or the decked out mini bar/fridge or the TV but I took a photo of this.

Home made conserve with a little note from Management. Awww, these guys are the best!

In the bedroom..

IMG_20150918_155635.jpg

The view from the window.

IMG_20150918_155602.jpg

Ain't never seen a bed like this! It was the most comfy bed too.

IMG_20150918_155728.jpg

In the bathroom...

Marble everywhere!

IMG_20150918_155744.jpg

And that's why he said bring the bath bombs.

The excitement wasn't enough to silence my rumbling stomach and we were keen to go downstairs, grab a drink and some food.

IMG_20151025_135430.jpg

A starter of bread and dips.

IMG_20151025_144902.jpg

More food!

We probably shouldn't have eaten all that food knowing we had degustation in a few hours.

..... to be continued!

Sort:  

Oh i love Lilianfels I have not been there for years. There and the Hydro!

Its one of our fave spots up here :) Ive never actually been to Hydro - have driven past it a few times and the view from that place is sublime 😍

Heard their high tea isnt the best and Lilianfels is still better.

You should go to Echoes. Its part of the Escarpment group and just across the road from Lilianfels. The food there is also good. Not as good as it was in 2011 but still good.

Do not go to the Carrington!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73