What is Medicine ? Part One. by Dr Candice Griffith

in #life7 years ago (edited)

When you hear the word "medicine", what do you think of ?


Matt Briney

It is particularly common for people to associate the word medicine as synonymous with the word "medication".
The word medicine is derived from the Latin word "medicis" meaning "physician". In exploration of the word physician, there are two definitions for this word. One is, of course, someone licensed to practice medicine...and the other is a person who cures moral or spiritual ills, a healer. I find this interesting because it is moving the onus of sole responsibility from the one who is receiving to sharing it with the one who is directing potential treatment or cure. I would even venture to say that the doctor's medicine comes in the words, the intentions, the behaviours, the non-verbal aspects of being in the room with a patient.

My initial appointment with a patient is 75 minutes in length....when was the last time you had a doctor spend that much time with you ? So many of my patients express immense gratitude at being given the time and attention required to truly KNOW what is happening for a person in their health and health history. My very essence of medical practice is to find the CAUSE. To find potential connections and reason for that patient's concerns. Especially in cases of chronic disease. The body suffers and what is the reason ? How is this being treated in its totality ?

I am very soon to release my next, my THIRD video....
It is titled "Whole Person Doctoring - the 4 Levels of Healthcare"
eeeeeeee.....I'm so excited to share!!

You can check my previous two videos here

See you again in a few days :)
Your local Steemit doctor,
Candice
xo

Sort:  

thank you Doctor

That's a good thing you're doing, spending so much time with someone who goes to you for help.

I have a spinal cord injury, and the fact that they can want to move on is one of the things that bothers me about doctors. Maybe they have a lot to do, but I still don't think it's ok.

Usually I just need to tell them what I need, and sometimes I do need them to discuss with me what they think, so I can figure out where to go from there.

Regardless, enough time is necessary when it comes to somebody's health and well-being.

I am sorry to hear that you have an injury to such a vital and sensitive part of your body. There are big decisions to make when you have a chronic injury and so I am glad to hear that you persist in asking questions and getting opinions. Wishing you many blessings in your journey !

Thanks, for your well-wishes! And yeah, I'm really hoping for a cure. There are some interesting technologies being developed, so I'll have to see. In the meantime, you just have to take things moment by moment, and day by day.

just a placebo effect for some cases in my view

Placebo is a very powerful effect. There are pharmaceutical medications sold in immense quantity that have less success than the placebo effect in clinical trials. Smiling provides you a placebo effect, even if you aren't in a good mood....hmmmm fancy that....
Not to say I rely on placebo to help my patients, but a smile at the end of an appointment is a good way to leave feeling better than perhaps you did when you walked in

It is a great post. Thanks for sharing information. Keep it up.

Thank you :) I love writing so it's a win-win that there are like-minded people to share it with

Medicine is given by doctor when we feel not very well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70