New Chapters, Self Doubt & Experiences that Take your Breath Away

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Do you have a personal growth challenge for 2017 ? Something that scares the shit out of you and you can do nothing except keep moving forward because there is a pull you can feel from within ?

With the dawning of 2017, after being a doctor practicing medicine for the past 15 years, there arrived opportunity to challenge myself to become comfortable sharing medical & life experiences in a totally new way. With newness comes discomfort and I have circled in and out of self doubts around whether any of this was a good idea.

My first video is actually YES, MY VERY FIRST VIDEO. There was no trial run, no practicing..this was an on-the-ground-running experience. I have criticized every single sound, head shake, eye contact and have proceeded to make four more videos in the past two months. I am attempting to face my self doubts by trusting the process.

With each new video, my mannerisms are changing...I am speaking more comfortably...I am attempting to develop a level of comfort with my fears and expectations. I am standing in a small place imagining what lies beyond this dream.

https://unsplash.com/@jmacpherson

Each day, I am in service to the needs of the people. And with each person, I feel so driven to speak into their process towards health, wellbeing and the process in between. I am a mother to many and have valued my process of self-care throughout these shifts.

This project is a connection to sharing experiences...to opening up to a broader discussion of medical and personal care.
And the fun part is that I get to do this video business project with my best friend, Fia :) She is the master behind the studio that we have created in the basement of NIHC

Complete with shadow boxes and a ring light :)

In past, I have always hidden behind pretenses of shyness. I have denied my strengths in being a shining light in my life for far too long.
This is my personal challenge for 2017: To be brave, to follow my heart, to believe in faith beyond fears, to trust my process and embrace my experiences of interdependence on the path as it opens up to me.

Sort:  

You can do it. Just be yourself and not being somebody you're not.

Truth ! Thank you for the support :)

You will see yourself slowly evolving in front of the camera. It is much like getting to know yourself better.

It is such a cool experience to have a record of an evolution.

"With each new video, my mannerisms are changing...I am speaking more comfortably...I am attempting to develop a level of comfort with my fears and expectations. I am standing in a small place imagining what lies beyond this dream."

Beautifully said. I used to take self portraits and I firmly believe in the therapeutic nature of being in front of the camera. Definitely shapes you as a person

I am learning this :) Thank you for sharing !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89