Its so nice to use a dumb phone

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Phone1 - C.jpg

Phonec.JPG



 I have been using a dumb phone going on about a year now and I cant understand why It took so long for me to ditch my smart phone. With the constant bombardment from social media and e-mails it was a feeling of never being able to get away and relax. I appreciate having a phone that just makes phone calls and is around in case of an emergency. I ended up buying a unlocked polaroid phone with dual sims for around $20 brand new. Guess what, it can make and receive calls and the reception is just as good and in some cases better than smartphones I have owned. The battery life on this for me with my limited use is about a week. 

 Nokia is updating its retro 3310 model to a modern 2017 version and should be available soon. The specs are basic and consist of a two megapixel camera and month long standby time. I may look at getting the updated version of this old phone once its available in my location. With the extra amount of time I save having a dumb phone it has really been a smart choice!

Please let me know about your experiences and reasons for ditching or wanting to ditch your smartphone.

Sort:  

I had a flip phone until three years ago. I got a smarter phone so I could use Ting. I don't do business with Apple, so an iPhone is out. I originally got a flip phone for work. I actually miss my landline. I could just walk away from it and not be tied to the electronic leash for days. If the power of smart phones was actually used to proliferate real knowledge it might be different, but they have made people more stupid and ignorant instead.

I use ting also, works nicely with my dumb phone and since I do not use it much you can imagine how low my bill is. I have been really happy with the service from Ting and am happy to be doing business with the old tucows company. I just feel like when I am away from the computer I actually want to be away and not carry a small one with me in the form of a smartphone.

I usually get less than one phone call a month, and the rest is text. I do like using stored maps and the camera on my phone.

The camera is a nice feature, my phone has a camera but the quality is poor. I could see how having maps would be handy especially if you travel quite a bit.

What I do like is my kindle. I read constantly, and being able to have a library in my pocket is great. I have the wireless disabled.

I have looked at kindles, its looks like a nice way to consolidate your reading material. Did you go with the Paperwhite version?

Yes, I have the paperwhite. I don't like extended backlit reading. It was even a gift, so even better. It comes with the Oxford English dictionary, and I just shoved it full of all kinds of reference books, novels, scientific papers, bus schedules, and anything else I can get in a compatible format, usually pdf. I guess I could put the maps on there. The battery charge lasts forever. I have to charge it, maybe, once a month.

That is awesome, I bet it would be much easier to read the maps on that compared to your smartphone.

I never used a smartphone.
I am on my third dumb, that one cost 30€, dual sim too (one private, one is used otherwise).
Standby time is now down to 5 days due to aging, but still better then smartphones, right?
And I can get or do calls whenever I want.
Also the prepaid is so cheap I still on my second 15€ load. They definitely do not make much profit from me, like from the dumb smartphone users who get a "free" phone and pay 50€ a month.

The cost is another big reason I switched, the less monthly fees you have the more freedom you have! You are correct those so called free phones are hardly free. Glad to be part of the dumb phone club!

less monthly fees you have the more freedom you have!

You are not a mustachian, are you?

I am not, is that a person?

Then let me introduce you to Mr.MoneyMustache ;) It may not be the best video, but it's short.

If you like what you hear:
http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/

Thanks for sharing this, I have a very similar philosophy and appreciate his lifestyle choice. So glad other people think this way!

what a nice phone!let me show you whats mine!lol!

So nice to see that you are also in the dumb phone club! Thanks for sharing this!
:)

its better to use it rather than android phones.lol.followed you now!

Thanks for the follow, followed back

Since I spend so little time talking on my phone, I almost decided to get a tablet with web-only access, but opted for a smartphone with a low-minutes prepaid plan instead. My old Nokia still works though, and I can't speak highly enough of Nokia reliability.

Nokia phones are like tanks and the 3310 is legendary for being a reliable tough basic phone. The main reason I opted against a smart phone was to avoid the distractions that come with it. I use my desktop if I want to get on e-mail or social media and want to have some peace when I am away from my computer.

Nice. I only have a landline. I want a smart phone but at the same time I'm scared of it.

I ditched the landline and went with a dumb phone only, its not something that works for everyone but it was perfect in my situation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66