You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have You Ever Been Ghosted? Steemit

in #life5 years ago

Of course... it's super hard.
Some of the best compliments that people use are things like 'they're so likeable' or 'he's really well-liked' - which is lovely, but again it ties people self-worth into how others perceive them.. actually, now that I think about it, so many our compliments are based on how other people react to you... attractive, hilarious, 'has so many friends' etc. I think I'd prefer people to say I was caring or a good listener rather than likeable now.

This is great advice though, sometimes it's us, but I think the vast-majority of the time it's not us... I have so many friends who'd disappear as soon as they coupled up... but that's fine, as long as they're happy, really.

Like GM, it's making me thinking about the people I've ghosted, which sucks, I can think of a few examples already, and it's stupid because it's not that hard to let people know that you're just too busy at the moment but that you still like them.

I think we all need to work on trying not to be people who only contact others when they need something.

Sort:  

but again it ties people self-worth into how others perceive them.<< so true, you're making me think deep!

You ARE caring, and you're a generous person because you totally offered your guest room to me. Does generous count as one of the good compliments?

Oh man, coupled up ghosting is a whole different story!! I've had that too but I guess it didn't bother me much, it's just kinda life I suppose.

I wonder if getting busy is different than ghosting someone...I feel like it is. I've had friends where we get really busy and don't talk for 10 months or even a year but then we get back together and it's the same...so to me that's not really ghosting. That's just proof that you're good friends.

You've got lots of good points.

I hate to say it, since you don't like this compliment...but you ARE hilarious and likeable. Oops, sorry, haha

Hmmm, I guess ghosting really means that you never talk to them again... I'm sure it comes from Tinder when you have fun chats, go on a date, have a great time.... then silence, forever. Maybe we need a whole different term for people who only pop up when they need something... ? Ghostgrabs?

Oh for sure getting busy is totally different... but with your 10 month friends, how many messages would they ignore before you'd feel ghosted? At some point you'd stop trying I guess...

Hahaha, dang it... from now on I only accept compliments that are FACTS:
"AussieNinja, you are 5'8"",
"AussieNinja, I once grinned from a comment you made. That was good."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97