Who Wakes Up At The First Sound Of The Alarm?

in #life5 years ago

Okay, not really "wake up" but like muster the strength to live the bed.

So, I went traveled to a friend's house on Wednesday (yeah, that's why I have been inactive here. In fact, I just came back home about an hour ago) and early in the morning around 5:30 (I happen to be awake by that time) her alarm started to ring. And there I sat down as I hear the alarm make its sound over and over again. She woke up but decided to just ignore it.

image

As I hear the alarm ring for the last time (that's after it rang for like 6times), a thought hit me, the thought of how hard I do try to wake up leave my bed every morning.

And just when I thought the alarm was done doing its thing, it made the annoying sound again and this time, she hissed and turned to the other side of the bed. Contrary to what most people have done, she didn't smash it to the wall turn it thing off (maybe she thought the sound of the alarm will make her uncomfortable enough to leave the bed?)

The alarm that started sounding at 5:30 am was turned off at around 6:40 or so, she went back to sleep and finally woke up at around 7:00 am

I hardly use an alarm to wake up, my senses wake me (but sadly, they don't get me out of the bed). And once I open my eyes, I am like "Oh no, I hope it's not morning already, can't we just keep sleeping and do everything on our beds?"

I will decide to add another 30 minutes of sleep or more (because it still seems too early), make mental notes of all that I need to do after that — Do some indoor workout (to burn last night's calories), make the bed, make breakfast, shower etc

Well, after the 30 mins (or more) extra sleep, I start convincing myself that I can do stuff faster than I usually do🤣, if I am convinced enough (which I always am), I close my eyes for the second time😊

image

And after few minutes of sleeping and lazying around on my bed, I realize that I probably won't be that fast, then I convince myself that I can do away with somethings (well, breakfast comes to mind first).

Well, after about an hour or more of procrastination, I check my time and realize that time is far gone and I am running late. Suddenly, there is a rush of adrenaline and I seem to have all the "energy" (willpower?) I didn't have earlier🤣

image

I move out of my room and I am like "Good morning, Mum, why didn't you wake me up"? And she is like " because I knew you were awake"🤣. While she doesn't wake me up (because she knows her efforts will be futile anyway) she tries to warm up some bathing water for me (and when she isn't home, I wake up, switch on the cooker place a pot of water on it, go back to bed and waste power)

Me: Running out of the house
Mum: Aren't you gonna eat breakfast?
Me: Like really, she wants me to be more late than I already am? No, thanks, I will get something to munch on...

image

Yeah, the calories I wanted to burn got burnt while I was rushing to get things done 🤣

There are times that I rush to get things done so I head out (leaving other things undone) and other times I just let myself slow down and let nature the consequences of my action (or inaction) play out

There are times that I have tried to be a little bit more disciplined and get moving almost immediately after waking up, even watch people's morning routine I Youtube but Darn! It always seems harder for me. That early morning sleep is something I just can't play with.

But playing with it also makes my day more productive and I function even better — because I started the right!

Something I have realized is that we really can do without that extra hour of sleep in the morning. As much as it is "sweet" at that moment, it makes our day turn into chaos if we are not careful. If you are okay with the chaos, feel free to enjoy😊

Some of us sure have been able to discipline themselves to get moving immediately they wake up and some, some have been blessed with that ability and a number of us just wait till the last minute.

Starting our day without that "little procrastination" most times seems impossible. I mean, we have been inactive for hours and our bodies have literally "shut down" and after waking up, the bed feels so comfortable, welcoming and probably the "best friend" we will ever have (at that point).

So, we will need some discipline, willpower and maybe some tricks to get up and start the day. Here is how I get around this sometimes;

— Push yourself to go to the bathroom, from there, move to the fridge and when you get back to bed, that morning sleep won't be as sweet.

— Make some exciting plans that will make you look forward to the new day, it gives you more energy to get moving in the morning that you can think of! Remember how early you woke up and got ready the last time you had some amazing stuff to look forward to?

— When you "manage" to leave the bed, "don't stay back to make your bed first, rather, do something else that will wake your muscles up.

image

Leaving the bed in the morning has never been easy for people like me but we really can't do anything by staying in bed for far too long, it will only end up turning our day into chaos, so wake up, find a trick that will work for you and get moving!!



Much Love — Audrey❤

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

This was superb @audreybits! I loved it. The battle with the alarm clock is real...lol. I wake up by alarms too and i have to get up because my kids' timely arrival in school depends on it. When it's not a school day however, i'm most likely to switch off the alarm and go right back to sleep for hours...lol

#Bigwaves

Yeah, it sure depends on it and well, we don't want the kids arriving late to school. Struggles of being a Mum, you must bean amazing Mum!!

And when school is on break, you get to pay off those sleep. Lol!...

Thanks for stopping by...

Twas my pleasure absolutely. It's always a delight reading your articles

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by audreybits from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Lol...I usually used to add more minutes to my sleep especially the days I dont have anything doing in the morning hour.

😀 mine, even on days I have something to do! Lol! And, its more than minutes...🤣

I always get up on the first alarm because i have to turn it off...

🤣🤣 So Funny, Ren! I read the "I always wake up on the first alarm" first and I was like "wow" only for me to read the continuation...🤣🤣

Oh, that's funny! Scott is bad about not turning it off so he can sleep a bit longer. Me, I stress he's gonna be late.
Ren

Congratulations @audreybits! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4500 replies. Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

wouldn't it be lovely to stay in bed?
maybe some day, I will cheat!

Sending some Quad Squad love!

Sure, it will be! A little bit of cheating wouldn't be too bad😉

😊❤

Yes the struggle is very real, unfortunately I do not think I will ever have that discipline so chaos through the day it is, gotta keep things exciting right.

I wake up 5min after I absolutely should, I can convince myself of anything when half awake like yeah work starts at 9 you can get up at 8:57

The tips I have failed at miserably, go to bathroom and traight to bed, I can even go make coffee and that second sleep is even better, waking and not rush getting dressed and leaving is so foreign to me haha even since school it was like that.

I really enjoyed this it is so relatable.

Hahahahahah!

Really? Convince yourself to wake up at 8:57 for work that starts at 9? Now, that looks like a start to a chaotic day but most times, we prefer to go for the chaos than miss out on that early morning sleep...

Sleep after coffee is better, like really?? Hahahah! Yours is on a whole new level, Pen😂😂😀. I guess the Rush adds the "special" feel you are used to, to the day...😀

Thanks for much for stopping by!

I gotta be out the door by 6:30 so i try to get up
By 6:00 ( the alarm is set to 5:30) that 30 min procrastination cognac have been a workout. I live too far from my work :(

Posted using Partiko iOS

🤣 you seem quite disciplined....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04