It is not a nice feeling when you find that your credit card has been used by someone else!

in #life6 years ago

My credit card paid for a Uber ride in Sydney costing $18.50 at the end of last month and it was not me. I don't live in Sydney and was definitely not in Sydney at this time.

Here I was scrolling through my online bank statement and found this transaction dated 31 August. What the heck not again! I remember deleting that Uber app! Or did I? Is there a loophole that stops people from leaving Uber and deleting their credit cards? Or maybe it is foul play making people think they have.

*This is my story. *

My husband and I joined Uber at the end of last year thinking that when we were travelling in Australia it would be a convenient app to have. Cheap, reliable and quick were our friend's rave reviews. Okay, why not. So I downloaded the app on my phone and gave them my credit card. All set!

However, early this year I found that I had been charged for a $10 ride in Sydney, it was not me. I really wanted to ring Uber but there is not possible because there is no contact number for complaints. I had to protest through the app and waited. Nothing happened and no refund. This is not good, right?

We were not happy so we deleted our credit card following the prompts exited from the app. We thought it was fine until finding a debit in my bank credit card statement. It seems that my credit was not actually deleted or someone has my card number. Next step in this scenario was a sensible logical one, I rang the bank yesterday morning and cancelled my credit card.

It is a bother to get a new credit card, it takes time to notify a couple of places my card is linked to. But I don't care as I intensely dislike people who steal even more. A low act. It is not fair, we all work hard for our money. The amount taken from me is not much but it is about principle.


Cheers


Sort:  

I feel you. I once checked my transaction history to find that my credit card had been used twice, on the same day, in Germany for a learner's driving school and in New York City for a spa.

I was horrified!! Called bank. Cancelled card immediately. They told me to go to my local branch and fill out some paperwork, and thankfully was able to get my funds back through the bank within the week.

This was a few years ago... have been super careful with my card ever since.

It happens doesn't it because I also had someone who hacked into my credit card a couple of years ago as well. They had taken $6,000 and the bank investigated and paid it. Credit cards are very useful but .....

howdy there angiemitchell! wow that is a pain to deal with but at least they didn't charge much. In fact that's off, why would you only make a charge for Uber? but that's good.

I know janton, always a worry when you give your credit card to such a big organisation. Of course there are lots of similar there stories out there. We are happy to pay taxi fares in future.

howdy again angiemitchell! yes Ma'am there is too much fraud going on and I'm surprised that Uber forces people to use a credit card, they should have a cash option.

It has happened to me before too. Luckily I managed to find out within hours of it happening and was able to shut it down. What is most worrying is you don't know how the hackers gained access to the credit card in most cases.

I know and it is the worry.

Congratulations @angiemitchell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86