Never Have I Ever...Gardened...Until Now!

in #life6 years ago

IMG_4074.jpg

I'm from Brooklyn..ok..so yea, I don't think I ever stepped into a garden as a child...besides maybe the Botanical Gardens on a field trip.

I also never ate vegetables as a kid either, besides lettuce and corn..haha.

However, as I've gotten older, I've discovered the power of food and changed my own lifestyle to one of good health, mentally, spiritually and physically.

I've been a vegan for two and half years and for the past 3 weeks, about 95% raw vegan. I finally am valuing my body for the amazing gift that it is and treating it as such.

So this spring, I got the inspiration to try my hand at starting a garden. Since my husband and I have been building our tiny house, there was plenty of wood not being used..so I searched online and learned how to make a raised garden bed.

I researched which vegetables and fruits grow best in the PNW during the spring and chose a few to begin with. I made a couple of trips to some local nurseries, (I honestly didn't realize nurseries were for gardening..I only knew the ones for babies..don't judge me) purchased organic soil, mushroom compost and some vegan food to add to the mix.

I chose to grow radishes.

IMG_4082.jpg

Radishes help the body detox, help aid the digestive system, protects against certain cancers and so much more. And don't forget about the greens! This is one of the most nutrient rich parts of this vegetable.

IMG_4082.jpg

I'm growing carrots. Their little baby sprouts and I love them :)

IMG_4077.jpg

Carrots help prevent cancer, provide antioxidants, protect our eyes and our teeth and much more!

My garden has kale growing.

IMG_4083.jpg

Kale is full of fiber, nutrients, vitamins and more!

I also purchased a starter Strawberry plant! The first flower just popped up a couple of days ago. I was told by the gentleman at the nursery that this particular strawberry will not grow wild, it will simply grow in the spot where it's planted.

IMG_4086.jpg

Strawberries are not only delicious, but full of fiber, vitamins, potassium and more!

IMG_4098.jpg

And lastly, I purchased a cucumber starter. This one seems to be thriving the least...I'm not quite sure why, but if any of you with green thumbs would like to help a sister out, I am more than open to any advice!

IMG_4095.jpg

Cucumbers are full of benefits including fighting inflammation, helping with hydration, protecting our bones and so much more!

So that's what I have for now. I am excited to watch these babies grow and thankful for the nourishment that they will provide! Thank you for reading :)

IMG_4102.jpg

IMG_4071.jpg

Wishing joy, great health and love.

Sort:  

Nice to see your gardening self coming to life. :) That you for the upvote - following you from Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand. :)

thank you @artemislives I really enjoyed your blog♡I've been learning about Buddhism and never heard that story.

are the pictures from your garden? very nice,i like your post !

Yes they are! Thank you @emrah67

I will be waiting for your photos and comments when your vegetables grow! .have a good weekend !

Same to you :)

Happy spring. A pic of my daffodils in full bloom, just fot you. Enjoy your garden😀
20180508_094948.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04