Maybe some of us like to gossip because we are simply more empathetic creatures

in #life7 years ago

When it comes to gossip, it's usually considered a bad thing.

Apparently, it's also a sin. It's generally bad to talk about others.

But I for one am fully willing to admit that I like gossip.

No, I don't do it just because I want to talk shit and put others down behind their backs.

I actually like to learn more about a person, their values, their principles, their stories and yep, their plight.

I like to relate to others through what they go or been through.

Perhaps it's wrong. Perhaps I am being lied to in the first place.

But it's honestly a much better alternative than typical conversation topics among friends.

For one, I don't play sports. Do you know what it's like to sit among a bunch of dudes who talk about sports only? 

It's downright boring. I also find it downright silly and hypocritical to consistently lambaste a star athlete when you aren't even capable of playing the sport yourself.

So I prefer gossip. I think it's perfectly fine. I think you can really find out more about a person through gossip.

But of course, you should not use that gossip judge someone. You should try not to create horrible preconceived notions about him or her. And most of all, don't act like a total jerk and behave hostile just because of that you heard.

That's when gossip gets a bad rep.

www.Alden-Tan.com

Follow me here on Steemit! @aldentan

Support my work here on Patreon if you like my writing. Peace!

Upvote, resteem and comment ya?

 

Sort:  

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85