Explore the miniature world of the outdoors

in #life7 years ago

The big and small of nature

Recently I shared how one the largest animals on our planet washed up near my house. Well the other day I went on a short trail walk with my daughter in a mountain valley and experienced the smaller side of nature.

As a long time photographer, Steemit has encouraged me to bring my camera along more often. Another fun part of getting outdoors is the game of Geocaching: using GPS in a world-wide “treasure hunt”. Some can be extremely challenging because of the way they’re hidden, camouflaged, or just the feat of getting there. There’s also plenty that are kid friendly and easy to find while just getting out for some fresh air.

Out on the trail that day a Geocache led us down some rabbit trails through low growth pine. The nestled feel under those pines and the way pockets of light shone through revealed an amazing, hidden microcosm.

My daughter could stand up and walk under the low branches while I crouched or crawled on hands and knees. If I stood, the pines would be somewhere between my shoulders and a couple feet over my head.

It was when I decided we weren’t going to find the cache and sat down to enjoy the little world we found, I noticed a sliver of light coming through the branches illuminating a strange growth. It was about as tall as grass, but a lighter green. It also wasn’t thin like a blade of grass, but rather had a round thickness to it. A hundred little arms were bursting up through the earth reaching for the light.

We were waiting for little faeries to come out of hiding and welcome us to their land. All around I noticed tiny mosses, strange cabbage-like leaves, and baby pines just starting to grow.

Then I noticed something even more interesting. Tiny bright green cups growing from the moss on a log. They looked like vessels for little imaginary woodland creatures to come drink magical nectar.

Growing just behind those little cups, I noticed more of the spindly arms. And the cabbage looking stuff. The variety of lichen and moss species all growing in this one square foot area was amazing.

Living in Alaska has made me a logtime outdoor enthusiast, but when it comes to technical knowledge of the natural world that’s where people like @mountainwashere excel. If you like intelligently written science articles check out his profile and give him a follow. He’s trying to start a weekly nature identification thread, and in this week’s edition @fabulousfungi helped me identify some of these specimens. Those little arms reaching from the grave are Cladonia coniocraea, and the pixie-cups are Cladonia fimbriata.

Get outdoors and explore! Take some time to enjoy the amazing things that happen in nature. You’d be impressed what fascinating things you might be walking right past.
I appreciate your upvote, enjoy your comments, and invite you to follow me for more photography, fiction, and incidental writings.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aksounder to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

interesting photos, my friend, now following you and have upvoted you as well

Glad you enjoyed! Thanks for commenting and following, I'll look forward to your comments on future posts.

Funny thing, I somehow came across your profile a couple days ago and saw you're traveling in Alaska. Looks like you're enjoying your visit here. I also noticed you're a novelist. I've got a short fiction series I'm in the process of posting; if you'd like to take a look, I know it's a different genra than you write, but I'd enjoy your comments there as well.

Oh, and happy birthday!

Glad to have found your posts. It's fascinating as the ground flora you have there reminds me very much of the Scottish Highlands. The lichen species look the same but I'm no expert on lichens so they may be different species. Love a pine wood microcosm!

Thanks, and I'm glad to have you here. I enjoy reader comments. I'd like to do some more photography like this after I get a micro lens (haven't had one since my film days) but unfortunately that window is quickly closing as the harsh winter of Alaska approaches.

Macro ice formations?!

Haha that's exactly what crossed my mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80