The Day the Earth Went Blind

in #life7 years ago

shutterstock_112249904.jpg
(I had some strange inspiration this morning, and felt like writing a short story?!?!????? I've not sure I've had that happen in a long time. My inspiration only lasted so long though, and I know I'm awful at completing written pieces, so I figured I'd type this out and anyone is open to continue writing something in addition to? HMU if you write something.)

As the sun rose again as it always does
The people rose with it
But unlike any other other morning in memory
people woke to complete darkness

As if the sun did not rise
The people could no longer see
No living adult could use their eyes
only the children were left with sight

The first day was frantic, as all the adults ran around blind
trying to keep the world running exactly the same
as if they were unhindered

Day turned to weeks
Jobs slowed, people grew weary with their limitations
Nothing could be built
No written words could be read
And no one could tell where anyone else was without constant contact.

Except for the children.

One by one they started to rise
and take the hands of the lost adults
They carefully guided them, fed them and cared for them
The children would tell them what they saw

It was then when people started to come back together
They took to the fields and together they grew
They gave up screens and lights for voices and laughter
They gave up judgement, for no one had more than another

No one was afraid to bump into another,
it just meant someone was nearby
No one was in need for anything,
because there were no longer things to envy.

A brother one day spoke to his older brother and said,
"Since we lost our vision my brother, the world has been so quiet."

"What do you mean?" He asked, not sure what his younger sibling meant.

"Well because men are blind, they cannot shoot one another. So no one is dying. Because no one can see the color of another's skin, no one says unkind things any more. Because the children have become the eyes, priorities shifted. Brother, can you tell me right now, how much money is in your bank account?"

"No. I haven't touched it since this all started." He gestured to his eyes, "Every day I wake, I eat, I work the fields and then I come home and craft with you and the family while the children give us eyes while we cook. What use does the money in my bank account do for me?"

I imagine an ending with the regaining of vision through realize need of change, though that as much as I got at the moment.

Sort:  

TY so much i really appreciate this

Congratulations @ailema! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ailema! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78