Things I write when I’m drunk: About being emotional

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever been in a situation where you just can’t stop your tears from coming down? What about a situation when you can’t help saying hurtful things because you’re angry? Is it normal? But most importantly, is it a good thing?

Speaking from a personal level, I can say I have always defended being an emotional person: I defend empathy, solidarity, understanding, putting yourself in another’s shoes. But, is it ok to let another’s person’s issues affect you?

Maybe, maybe not. From a moral point of view it’s a strange thing to think about someone we care about suffering and we ourselves not caring. We think we should care. Right? We should care about our mother crying, about our significant other being angry at us because a decision we made, about a sick relative. We SHOULD care. But, should it affect us? Should we feel sad, or angry, or whatever emotion we think suits the situation? I think It’s okay to feel, but it’s not so great to let emotions take control over our well being, or another’s.

These are very interesting questions, and the answers may be simple for you, but they aren’t for me. I’m a very emotional person, an empath from birth. But lately, different people in my life have led me to the thought that maybe I am wrong.

It is okay for me to care about the way someone else’s feels. But to be affected by it? It’s too much. I say this because I am very, very, sensitive, especially if it’s about someone I care about, but even if it’s not, I am able to put myself in another’s shoes, at a level where I forget who I am, and I just feel what I think someone else’s would or should feel.

But let’s say I see a situation and I misinterpret it, but it affects me. Did I decide it SHOULD affect me? Are emotions a decision? This is my real question. Can I decide what affects me and what doesn’t? Are emotions rational? If they aren’t, can I overcome them by rational thought? In my experience, I can come to a conclusion where I can say, “Ok, maybe what I’m feeling is not exactly right, but somehow I can’t overcome it.” Who says emotions are not more important than thought? Why is rational thinking over what I’m feeling? Are emotions wrong? Why do I feel the way I feel then? Because I decided it? These are just questions for you to THINK and FEEL and not facts. My actual question here is: Is THOUGHT over EMOTIONS?

Are emotions irrational? If they are, are they wrong? Are they wrong just because they are negative? What if you feel WELL by killing, raping, hurting, someone?

Feelings are just a human thing. Maybe we can disregard human stuff, but it’s at the sole base of who we are. Being human is to feel hurt, to feel love, to feel anger, to feel ALIVE. TO FEEL, TO BE. And to question everything we experiment. It can come out as wrong because not everyone is able to be conscious about what they feel, think, or experiment. And that is somehow just FINE. But for me, it depends on the level of spiritual evolution you are in. Maybe it’s not okay to be affected by everything you see. Maybe it’s not okay to believe every feeling you encounter. But is it important to understand the humanity of it, it is important to understand the purpose of it, and then, maybe, just maybe, let that affection GO.

You can achieve a lot by thought and understanding, but feelings come first, in a matter of time. It doesn’t mean that they are more important, it just means that they deserve to be taken accounted for, because they have a purpose.

Sort:  

My opinion.

Whoever thinks we're only supposed to be happy, takes too many happy pills. Anger and sadness are just as important and help contribute to a balanced life. Anger isn't rage though. Sadness doesn't equal depression. There is a healthy middle ground.

Give me a reason to be happy, sad or angry and I'll be just that. I won't hide who I am nor will I feel shame for acting like a human.

When you're putting yourself in another's shoes, try to feel their happiness sometime. Put yourself in a situation that brought them joy. Feel those emotions, then ask yourself again if it's wrong to be taking that long walk within those shoes.

Have a nice day.

Thank you for your support and this beautiful answer. Of course, that's the way it works. Emotions are necessary and important. They just become a problem (for me) when I am unable to understand them and hence, unable to control them, or better said, conduce them to a safe place.

write introduceyourself post... You need it

Haha thank you! I will do that. I'm like, just trying to learn stuff first.

Humans are emotional beings, so I think we should be more accepting of that fact. But we should also strive to be more than simply controlled by out emotions. We shouldn't be judgemental over those that struggle more with controlling their's though, especially when we don't do any form of education on controlling your emotions.

Exactly. To know how to handle our emotions we have to learn a lot about ourselves and we don't live in a society that focus on teaching how to do that at all. Emotions are hard, specially when raw and pasional. And I've seen it's hard for some people to understand this because not everyone reacts the same, and some people have it easier, or are able to think better before reacting.

es lo primero que nos deberían enseñar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59232.58
ETH 2523.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47