The short story about an abandoned garden with blooming orange trees at the foot of the Acropolis

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I know many of you have visited Greece. A sunny country with many islands scattered in a Mediterranean sea with clear and colorful water.
I know you've been impressed by the culture and the history. So do I!
I think many of you have always been conquered by Greek cuisine, so healthy and full of flavor. So do I!
However, when I visited Greece recently, what impressed me most was a garden, a few hundred meters, somewhere near, at the foot of Acropolis.
DSC09175.JPG

Of course, that would seem like a trivial story without the spectacular element. Every story is determined by characters, circumstances, time and places. My little story about this garden probably would not have been the same on another day at the same time.
I say this because I chose to ride on the streets of Athens leading to the Acropolis, just on the Easter day when the streets were completely deserted.
DSC09136.JPG

There was no one on the streets, early in the afternoon. I could not imagine what Athens would look like in a typical day. It seemed an empty city. This helped me to get into a nearly meditative state as I walked slowly towards the Acropolis.
As I crossed the city, I admired the buildings, the trees and the atmosphere of tranquility. Sometimes a loud voice on the balconies made me startle, or very rarely the engine of a lost car through the streets.
I often stopped admiring the street art that is so abundant in Athens. Almost every store has a graffity.
Where else would be an abundance of graffiti if not in Athens?
This type of art has its beginnings actually in the Ancient Greece.
DSC09137.JPG

At some point, at the end of a street, I saw the Acropolis on the top of the hill and I knew it was not that much anymore.
21462618_1534125996626536_2807319713287186322_n.jpg

The streets up to the plateau are cobbled and narrow.
DSC09156.JPG

I took some pictures and as I walked up the city's panorama unfolded and I realized how big this city is.
I have often thought of how many steps have passed over there for so many thousands of years? How many destinies and lives knows this city?
Acropole top.jpg
Many stories I knew from childhood about a land governed by other laws and guided by gods, goddesses and many other divine and semi-divine figures from ancient Greek mythology, came into my mind.
I think The Legends of Olympus a children's book by Romanian author Alexandru Mitru was one of my most beloved readings in my childhood. I remember how much I liked Athens, the goddess born right from the forehead of Zeus. Aphrodite, Zeus, Hera, Apollo, Artemis, they all came in my mind while I was ''climbing'' the hill to the Acropolis. I was intrigued by god’s Eros and Thanatos characters without knowing that later I will meet these two psychological concepts belonging to the Freudian school.
Up on the plateau, as I expected, the archaeological site was closed because it was the Easter. Several tourists, lost too, were taking pictures.

DSC09173.JPG
I rested some time up on a large stone and I admired the city.
The sun burned with power.
I was sitting there for a while, resting, and trying to do a little mindfulness and live the moment.

You may have been bored reading this, but my little story is just beginning.

At one point I decided to go back and I chose another downhill road.
There are some wonderful olive trees there, specific Mediterranean plants, and the old houses have an air locked in time, although among them are very beautiful and new villas, which preserve the architecture of the place.
21432889_1534125553293247_5722150251983814900_n.jpg

DSC09169.JPG

After a few hundred meters I felt a special fragrance, delicious and delicate, slightly fruity. It was so quiet around, only the birds were singing. And then I saw it! A garden! It was the garden of a Greek house that seemed uninhabited for a very long time.
gradina portocali 2.jpg

Have you ever felt the blooming orange tree smell?

gradina portocali 3.jpg
The blooming orange trees were spreading a beautiful scent, almost magic. In the grass that had grown undisturbed, a few amphoras were thrown and lost.

gradina portocali 5.jpg

Lemons and blooming orange trees had fruits at all stages, and on the ground were the ripe fruit, many of them already in putrefaction.
gradport 4.jpg

Then I noticed the cat.
gradinaportocalicopy 1.jpg

It seemed to be there to take care of the garden. This was my first thought… or maybe it is just passing? Yet she seemed familiar with the place.
The presence of this abandoned garden has deeply touched me.
It is almost difficult to say in words why. I have been thinking many times since then at this garden trying to decipher the meaning and later I realized why.
It was about peace, inner peace.
Although it seemed uncaring and abandoned, the garden was in perfect harmony.
I took some pictures with my phone among the planks of the fence, with the fear of disturbing this harmony.
I stood there for a while, watching, and what thought came in my mind was about the Ithaca poem of C.P. Cavafy.
Yes, that's all about!
In our lifetime journey we're trying to find our own Ithaca.
Probably the symbolism of this forgotten garden, abandoned but in harmony, like a lost paradise we all aspire to, touched me a lot.
There was nothing sad, everything was like a pure joy and peace.
And I was grateful.
DSC09172.JPG

I have been thinking many times since then at that garden. I've tried to invent even a story about it.
What happened to be left alone?
Where are the owners?
Have they gone forever?
Are they coming back, are they dead?
I imagine that a writer could start a novel, enjoying the meeting with such a magical garden.
21430269_1534125866626549_6489111440731694211_n.jpg

I think there is not much to say in the end.
DSC01085.JPG

Thank you for your time!

Sort:  

Stunning post with a really nice story. The contrast between the garden and the city is is significant like this already... what an oasis the garden must be, when you get there from streets congested with traffic!

Athens looks like a big/large garden full of ancient stones, olive trees, orange and lemon trees. :)

Nice story, @aci7! I lived in Athens and rememebers the stray cats and the blooming oranges everywhere as a daily occurence, which make me very nostalgic of that time and place. The deserted streets make your pics quite unic :)

Deserted streets are unusually beautiful sometimes. :) Thank you!

A garden for souls, lost in time.

I've never been, but I appreciate the photos and journey. Allows me to live vicariously through your eyes.

The weight of history in grooved paving stones. Tragedies and follies soaked into the architecture. Seeing a city almost asleep in the broad light of day must be mesmerizing.

Like the last person on earth, restless and weary.

Yes, indeed. Walking on the empty streets was surreal but true and my feelings as well. :) Thank you!

EXCELLENT WORK IN THIS BLOG, AND SINCE YA TINES MY UPVOTE, ALWAYS SUPPORTING THE WORK OF MY FOLLOWERS AND FRIENDS, I HOPE YOU IN MY BLOG, I TELL YOUR SUPPORT, FOR MY IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT HAND FRIENDS THANKS, AND FOLLOWS WORKING THERE, EXTENDING POST ,,,

I love Greek -
we was a longtime ago on the Cyclades -
we made island hopping - from island to island -
Naxos -Paros -Ios- Santorini
was a great time with wonderful people and moments...
Thanks for sharing :-)

Yes, it is a wonderful country. Thank you for your comment!

This is stunningly beautiful. Both the pictures and the writing. You truly have a gift.

I try to do my best. :) Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25