Left my birthday in an old forgotten Facebook pocket

in #life6 years ago

It's been exactly a year since I deactivated my Facebook account and begun my anonymity as a "social person". I managed to become such anonymous that almost nobody knew that today was my birthday. Well not everybody. Usually I would get some good amount of birthday messages when being active on the above mentioned social media platform due to the fact that I left my birthday exposed on the page.

However, this year there was nothing to remember even to some close friends of mine, without me telling them, that I'm celebrating, if I can say that, some age today. Not that I am a fan of birthday parties or that I care that much about the day itself, but celebrating one year without Facebook got me thinking how blessed I am of being off-line on social media. I am online on Steemit every day but I don't consider my activity around here as social media activity so I am not mixing platforms and feelings. As I said it before, for me, Steemit is one of a kind and one with no competition for the moment.

I do remember though very well how it was before Facebook introduced that many data and automation on its platform. People used their memory more, in my opinion, and messages, birthday wishes, comments and friendships were genuine and let's say palpable. Now, everybody gets to know everybody, but actually nobody cares of nobody or actually really know the person. By any means this is not a rant against my friends who forgot about my birthday today, as I really don't care about that, but it is a rant about how social media screws with our lives and minds and how we're missing important human qualities due to the fact that we rely too much on smartphone to take care of stuff.

WhatsApp Image 2018-08-14 at 23.39.09.jpeg

It's not the first one and probably not the last one either, but its definitely one that has a point. Probably I am old fashioned, but I liked more those times when you should remember someone's birthday if you wanted to give him/her a wish on time, when you would have to ask someone some questions to get to know that person without reading his/her page, when you could like the person and tell her/him personally and not through a white button that turns red when you turn it on.

It's funny but as I am getting older I am appreciating more of the simple and old things that really made me happy. Things that no piece of technology managed to offer them to me. I am into tech and gizmos that make life easier and more fun, but the excess use of these seems to make everything like a robots work and take the flavor out of every activity. It's like there's too much selfies and too few smiles and hugs nowadays. In my opinion relying too much on tech to do almost anything for us will ultimately affect our brains, memory and like in any muscle the less you use it the weaker it becomes.

Unfortunately technology and its progress took most of us by surprise while drifting step by step towards repetitive robotic lives where we're more spectators than players. Probably it's karma's fault again, if we have to blame something for the situation, but it's all of us accepting it so ultimately it's on us. I remember watching a DTube video of @meno about a week ago and he was pointing that his smartphone camera was not that good and he needs to borrow someone's camera to record his videos and I was thinking at that time fu#k the camera man, it's your message that matters not the pixels. I've seen so many 4K bullshit recorded that I really appreciate a lot more some low quality video with a high quality idea expressed through it. After all it's the chocolate that tastes sweet, not the wrapping.

Bottom line it was a good day with and without messages :). I had some beers after a long period of time, I ate good, had a bit of fun with the boat and laughed a lot with some of my friends around here and now I'll have some well deserved sleep with 32 years of existence under my belt. Yeah...I'm getting old but who cares...

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

Happy birthday neighbour :-)
download.jpg

By the way, I don't have Facebook or Instagram account...

Thanks neighbor! You haven't lost anything. Is your Bahamas vacation over?

Yes. I came home today. If I could transfer my friends and family to the Bahamas, I would live over there 😁

I deactivated- and then subsequently deleted- my Facebook nearly five months ago in the wake of the privacy scandal. Your sentiment about being "blessed [to be] off-line on social media" hits home, there is a weight that comes off your chest when your reflex motion with downtime is to observe the world around you through your own senses, rather than the phone screen in your hand. Well said.

~ Mako

So I am not alone having such feelings regarding the fake Facebook life and why it was a good odea to deactivate my account.
Thanks for stopping by Mako.

some age today

You revealed it in another post ... still one year left of the golden youth ;-)

I revealed it in this one also at the bottom. That thing with some age sounds better in Romanian so I guess it wasn't a good idea to translate it word by word 😁. It's just a number after all...right? 😎

Wait, what, my counting was wrong. You revealed being 3 years in 1989, somehow the number 3 slipped out of my calculation.

Now you got all the numbers in place 😁 and yeah I still remember the 21th of December of 1989. We were warned to stay away from the windows because the terrorists invaded our country and we could get shot... It's like so much time has passed almost for nothing in the case of Romania. We learn slow...

There was an account I had for years as a brand and one day they closed it down as it was under my brand name instead of my actual one. I never went back to that account and joined Steemit instead! :)

As I said in the post Steemit is another world. For me is more palpable and genuine.

i never had a facebook, does that means i was not even born?

For some probably. I wish I never had also. It's just a piece of junk.

@acesontop Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27