Back Then

in #life5 years ago

Very often I find myself scrolling through my memories and comparing current times with the past, going as far as I can remember and trying to get into details as much as I can. When it comes to memory I have a very good visual memory. I have many episodes of my life, stored in details, that I can relive at will having a very accurate sensation of what it felt like and getting back into that past identity.

I was thinking today at my father's '87 Volkswagen Passat that he had when I was a child, I was thinking at my first phone and I was thinking also at pieces of clothing that I had many years ago and I still remember and they all have one thing in common. They lasted much more than we kept them around. Yes, back then things used to have quality and last for much more years. Before we became a consumption society.

camera-514992_1280.jpg

Not only the cars, clothes and electronics that we had were better and "tastier". Food also and by food I am referring to its effects on our health when comparing it to the current one that its purpose sometimes seems to be not the one of feeding us but the opposite. Nowadays it seems that the only purpose of the tons of products that are surrounding us, accessible through any type of purchase, is to make some people rich and to drain of resources the others.

Nowadays we have tens and tens of car brands to choose from, we have almost endless tech products to make our lives easier or even more complicated and we have thousands of flavors and aromas, but are really our lives easier and better than a few decades ago? I don't think so...

Now, I know that progress is entangled to us and we simply can't put it on pause and enjoy to the max what we already have, for centuries before getting to the next level, but I consider that the time we've lived 20 years ago has had more quality in it than the current times we have. Even the day was longer if I may put it that way.

supermarket-949913_1280.jpg

Now everything is so accessible and everything becomes so boring and dated too soon in my opinion. Human relationships as well along with shoes, cars and tech. It kind of makes me miss my father's old Passat that was reliable as hell, my first Nokia that I begged for it to broke so I could have a new phone and some of my old sneakers that wore me with joy for years through so many paths.

One can not stop time and evolution though, but I sure miss these times. I probably got a bit nostalgic by the fall coming to town lately but the 90's and the beginning of the 2000's were the good, the old and the long days in my opinion. Now we have that much and that many and we live that little... and it's nobody's fault.

Source of images: pixabay.com

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25