You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Simplified Taxless State: A Proposal (part three of three)

in #liberty8 years ago

I have to admit I am more of a fan of the Land Value Tax idea, but I am not sure i fully understand how thins works.

For example I am not clear how long these leases would be, because I assume they need to be reevaluated periodically if there is going to be a market and prices for them. If you find gold on your land why on earth would you let a cheap lease expire?

Also what about inheritance? Can my child take over my lease in order for example not to lose the house I built?

Also, without sales taxes, how will the state nanny us around and discourage icky stuff like tobacco, alcohol and sugar?

Sort:  

Also, without sales taxes, how will the state nanny us around and discourage icky stuff like tobacco, alcohol and sugar?

Studies and statistics imply that people don't poison themselves if they are well connected and happy. I put my eggs in that basket, this is very intuitive to me. After childhood, the training wheels are off. Encourage and treat the issues as health and emotional problems as they arise. A healthy society will be quick to recognize and reconnect those that are having trouble.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87