Just Believe? Even if you don't really?

in #liberty6 years ago

Image

In a list of things you can control, I saw "What you believe" listed.

I don't believe that's even slightly true.

I don't think belief is a choice.

If I truly believe something, to change that belief I'd need reasons. Reasons that change what I believe. Reasons showing why my belief is wrong. Not just reasons to believe differently. I could pretend to believe differently, but it would be a lie.

I can't believe I have a right to archate just because it would be convenient, or because I can't get what I want otherwise. I believe if I have no right to do something I shouldn't do it. Unless something changes my belief, that's what I believe. And the belief doesn't change just because I choose to change it. I would know I was only lying to myself.

It's like if I "decide" to believe rain is dragon urine falling from the clouds where the dragons live. I know that's not true, so I couldn't really believe it even if I tried to convince myself I do.

Same thing with the "(political) government is good" lie. I know it's a lie. I believe it's a lie. I can't believe what I don't believe, even if it would let me fit in better. My beliefs aren't arbitrary. Are yours?

Thank you for helping support KentforLiberty.com.
Donations and subscriptions are always appreciated!

Sort:  

I'm always bothered when people say, You need to decide the truth for yourself.
We don't get to decide what's true; we get to discern what's true. Huge difference.

Similarly, "We'll just have to agree to disagree." No. Sometimes one of us is right, and the other is wrong, and it is necessary to examine both the evidence and the reasoning applied to that evidence in order to reach a conclusive position. When someone says we need to agree to disagree, it often means, "My opinion matters more than your evidence and reason."

Or, Why do you always have to be right about everything?
Isn't that the goal? Who'd want to be wrong about things?
Do they mean, You always need to be acknowledged as smarter than everyone else?
Because again, they're different concepts.
If you're debating, you're risking being wrong. It means you value learning what's true, above preserving your pride, which is hardly indicative of somebody who wants to be seen as smart.

If I'm wrong, I want to know. I would rather be "embarrassed" about having been wrong than stay wrong. That's why I'm constantly questioning myself and what I believe.

Congratulations @dullhawk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82