Agree or Else

in #libertarian6 years ago

http://www.nola.com/politics/index.ssf/2018/05/louisiana_israel_boycott.html

Governor John Bel Edwards is your typical Democrat governor. He campaigns on not raising taxes, then conveniently forgets that promise after elected. Now he's signed an executive order to cease doing business with companies that are boycotting Israel. So, if I own a business that have contracts with the government of Louisiana, those previously signed contracts are void because I don't support another government thousands of miles away? How would you know if I was boycotting Israel if I don't make that information publicly available? You can't know that information at all. So, this is virtue signalling at it's worst.

As far as Israel goes, I care very little for what they do. I feel the same way about Palestine. It is a fight that my dogs stay out of. I hope that the people of Israel and Palestine can learn to live together, even when their governments can't. Politicians in the U.S. really need to stop these attempts to curtail people's right to speak freely, even when you find what they say is reprehensible. As always, my rights are far more important than your hurt feelings.

How about letting the free market work? If you know a person in charge of a company is a scumbag, and you stop doing business with them, it'll be harder for them to earn a profit. They will either correct their behavior or suffer profit losses. If enough clients stop doing business with them, they will go out of business. The market is a far more efficient, not to mention, ruthless judge, jury, and executioner of bad actors than your little, "Look how good and virtuous I am" stunts are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85