Have principles (and gun)-- will travel

in #libertarian4 years ago

Image

I recently got a boxed set of DVDs at Goodwill of the (first season of the) old western Have Gun-- Will Travel. I used to watch the show on Netflix... before they removed it while I was in the middle of binge-watching it a few years ago.

I have to say I really like Paladin. That show may be the most libertarian Western TV show I've seen.

I tend to rate fictional characters' actions as to whether I would have done the same thing in their situation. Paladin comes closest to what I would do (assuming I were as skilled and charismatic as the character, I mean). At least, his actions don't usually raise any red flags-- even though he still has way more respect for certain state institutions than I could ever have. He does occasionally do things I wouldn't have done-- things I consider archation-- but not that often.

It's a show I really enjoy.

What shows do you find most libertarian, and do you enjoy them?

Thank you for helping support KentforLiberty.com.
I hope I add something you find valuable enough to support. If so... Donations and subscriptions are always appreciated!

Find me on Patreon

Sort:  

Firefly is the first show that comes to mind as distinctly libertarian/anarchist. A few superhero shows demonstrate that legality can be opposed to morality as the government hunts the superheroes, although this is often also portrayed as the classic "just a few bad apples" or the result of some supervillain subverting democracy.

Yes, Firefly comes to my mind, too.

The only superheroes I like are the Incredibles. LOL. I really hate the Marvel superhero movies-- and I've tried so hard to like them.

I liked The Greatest American Hero way back when... I'd be interested to watch the series again and see if it was somewhat libertarian and if that's why I liked it.

I haven't seen the show, probably will look into it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81