Landrover Defender Lego Build: One

in #lego5 years ago

I started my new lego build on the weekend - The Landrover Defender. It's a set of over 2500 pieces and will be the first Lego Technic I have attempted. The end result will be a vehicle that has working suspension, dual-range gearbox (Lego's most sophisticated yet), steering, winch, doors and various other components. I'm excited.

This link here will take you to a short YouTube video on the model.

I'll admit that I didn't get too far on the weekend so am going to have another go tonight. I've been taking my time as I'm hoping to avoid an issue that I've been told plagues this set - Apparently there's issues with the gearbox. I've been going slow, making sure to follow the instructions and ensuring the required gaps are as perfect as can be in the sub-assembly of the moving parts - No too tight, not too loose.

I've got some concerns about missing parts also as when I unboxed the set one of the small bags was slightly open and there were some loose parts in the box. I'm hoping it merely happened in transit and the pieces I collected inside the box are complete. Time will tell I suppose.

One of the coolest aspects of this build is the fact that it's got a lot of working components. You can see a few pictured: Suspension and gearbox parts and I'm looking forward to getting them in place and, of course, to them working perfectly. The video above shows them all working.

The build begins with the rear section of the vehicle: The rear axle, suspension, drive-shafts and of course the gearbox so is a very technical part of the build. It's such an integrated model, with so many parts, that getting it wrong in this early phase could mean it doesn't work properly, or it needs to be torn down and re-assembled all over again. I'm hoping that's not going to happen.

I'll grab a few pictures of the build as it happens and share them with the hope that the next post I do will show-case the completed rear section of the vehicle. It probably won't look like much of a car at that stage, but in real life it wouldn't either - Just a mess of components all [hopefully] combined correctly.

Stay tuned.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

So there is a bit of a fix for the gearbox issue?

To be honest I think I have it sorted. I think it has something to do with tolerances. The instructions specify fairly precise gaps so things run freely. A shaft on too acute an angle can prevent parts from moving/engaging. It actually works in a very similar fashion to a real-world dual range box.

I think I have it sorted but time will tell. The gearbox build was interesting. Pretty complicated. I have a post about it coming up. With images.

Cool! Looking forward to seeing this come together.

It will look the part I'm sure...Just hope it functions as intended. Depends on my building skills.

Hope all the pieces are complete.

Posted using Partiko Android

getting it wrong in this early phase could mean it doesn't work properly, or it needs to be torn down and re-assembled all over again

Exactly like the real deal then XD Hope you don't have any issues :)

It's been pretty cool fun so far. I have stage one complete and will do a post in the next day or so. Hope I have it all tickety-boo though - Not keen on tearing it down and starting over.

I'm shocking for having to back track technic builds to correct errors I've made. That said, it has come in handy recently when one of my wife's colleagues was having difficulty working out where he'd gone wrong with his BMW motorcycle build

Screenshot_20191119-214702_Samsung Internet.jpg

Don't jinx me! 😳😉

All going well so far. Got all the 1's constructed and a post about it coming out about it soon.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Holy smokes sir galenkp! I didn't know Lego made such intricate models, I watched that cool video, wow!
Holy smokes again, I just noticed how much you're making on your posts! Well done sir, good for you, you're such a prolific writer and poster, you earn it! Mine are pitiful, I usually make about $1.50 on mine. lol.

Lego is life #legolife 😂

Re: the post value I've posted an average of 1.5 times a day since June 13 2017, my first day on the blockchain...Every day of the year. I tend to put a bit into them I guess too. I also work hard to engage with validity and effort which has gained me a few great followers who feel my posts are deserved of their votes. I've been fortunate and work hard at it at the same time. @tarazkp is my brother and he has helped me along through introductions along the way also.

Post values rise and fall but I focus more on my content, writing and engaging...The value comes later.

@tarazkp is your brother??? You mean your actual, physical, like same parents brother? lol. I have no idea how he posts so often with such content! Astounding to me.

Yep, born on the same day but 9 years apart. He's younger. If you saw us side by side the resemblece is clear.

Remarkable. 9 years apart but the same day! wow. The odds of that must be high. Well you guys are both amazingly prolific posters, I can't believe the number of posts and the content. You guys are writing machines! What does he do for a living? Oh! Is he the one that got the photos of the SEMA show?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48