Brickstacular 2019!! - Supporting Craniofacial Australia

in #lego5 years ago

Last weekend, one of my regular local clients hosted a little exhibition that he put together to raise a bit of money for Craniofacial Australia (you can find out a bit more about what they do here... http://www.craniofacial.com.au/).

Brent has been a former patient of the unit himself, so it was great for him to be able to use Lego to give back to a cause that he is passionate about, and it was great for me to be able to go along and not only see what he has done with the parts he's purchased from me, but also support his event - not to mention my daughter had fun with some of the interactive features of the event.

20190609 11.05.58.jpg

Whilst the exhibit was pretty small in comparison to many I have been to over the years, it is always great to see the enjoyment that people get from Lego, especially the kids.

I'll apologise in advance, as I'm sure my mobile phone photos, snapped quickly whilst trying to wrangle a three year old, don't do justice to the displays.

The first couple here are of a Nerf gun shooting gallery.

20190609 10.55.32.jpg

20190609 10.56.03.jpg

The aim being to fire the Nerf dart down range, avoid the rotating blockers and knock down the moving targets. Quite challenging, but a lot of fun. Unfortunately I couldn't get a clear picture of the mechanics behind it all.

There was the beachscape with a nice long boardwalk as well, not to mention the tiki bar.

20190609 10.57.36.jpg

20190609 10.57.39.jpg

20190609 10.57.46.jpg

20190609 10.58.04.jpg

20190609 10.58.07.jpg

20190609 11.19.49.jpg

There was also an interactive train exhibit, where kids could control the trains and try not to tip them over as they went way too fast around corners. I am still unsure whether my daughter was more delighted when she crashed the train, or when she made around the corner safely. Sadly, my photos of this weren't particularly good.

There was a city streetscape too, complete with a dog park (which can be seen in the header photo with my daughter petting one of the dog). The dog park was a tribute to Brent's fur-buddy who sadly passed away not long before the exhibition.

20190609 11.05.07.jpg

20190609 11.05.15.jpg

20190609 11.05.49.jpg

20190609 11.06.25.jpg

There were also a couple more pieces

20190609 11.04.37.jpg

20190609 11.04.47.jpg

The moral of the story here folks, is when one of these shows pops up in your area, I highly recommend that you get along and show your support. After all, there's a lot of time, and a lot of love that goes into the exhibits, and the exhibitors love to see others enjoying them.

Until next time.... Play Well.

Sort:  

This is really cool. And for a cool cause as well!

I'm always amazed at what people can come up with using Legos. Also, you must not be from the U.S. cuz I think we're the only ones who use the term in the plural form (Lego vs. Legos). And as usual, I'm pretty sure we say it incorrectly. Even though it was invented here. Was it not?

Well I don't usually like to dish out history lessons, but here's a history lesson :P

Lego started as a company in Denmark making wooden toys in the 1930s, before switching to the more recognisable plastic bricks around the late 40s. The name itself is a bit of a tip of the hat to the origins of the company, being derived from the Danish phrase "leg godt" which translated effectively to "Play Well"

And you are correct, I'm not from the US, but from a little island nation called Australia - of course you may well know me by another name here.....

Well, now. I see you are an Adelaidian. I know only three people from Adelaide. And only one of them has a darling little blonde girl. So....

And also, dangit! I can't believe I did not remember Lego was started in Denmark! Shame on me. Doh! Thanks for the history lesson. Good to see you here.

Nope, I'm a little further south than Adelaide, but my darling little blonde girl still loves her Rexxie T-Shirt :)

Awwww. So cute!

I miss the show. I miss you guys like the dickens. Such good times. I thought about revving it up again now that I'm back online, but I dunno. I'm kind of feeling the flow in a different direction now, so I'm not sure that's the best route to take at this juncture.

How bout you? Have you been monstering a lot still?

Gotta say, I do miss the Thursday morning laughs at work, amd wearing my headphones had the added bonus of less irritating interruptions.

My own Monstering has slowed a bit, there have been a lot of changes, not all of which I'm a fan of, and combined with Miss 3 there are higher priorities. What about yourself?

What kinds of changes are you not a fan of?

Apologies for the late reply. I guess it isn't as much not being a fan per se, but perhaps things seem a little heavily oriented to benefit the heavily invested top tier players and that gap seems to be widening regularly.

That's pretty awesome, bringing back some nostalgia!

Thanks. It's always great to see what other people are doing with the parts they buy from my store.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

@brickmanbrad Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Congratulations @brickmanbrad! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 comments. Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59119.47
ETH 2526.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47