Happy February 15th ~ The Day AFTER Valentines Day ~ Historic Valentine Cards ~ Vol. II ~ "Keep the Love Flowing" ~ Original Photography of Old Cards and Short To Semi-medium Discussion ~



Happy Day-After Valentines Day - To All Of You Out There On Steemit.

Yesterday I put out a post of old Valentines Day cards or everyone to peruse and enjoy. I still have several more in the box to display, so thought I would add them today.

YES, I realize Valentines Day is over. But I figure, why not share the Love for one more day. After all, the wonderful people that make up the world can use as much good feeling as they can get these days.

So, WITH further ado, here are some more cards from 'yesterday' from the box of old cards from my friend at work a few years back. Hope you enjoy viewing them as much as I do putting them out.




This little cherub is the beginning of the more or less interactive cards in this set. A simple little book to peer into when you get the card. The colors on these are still truly amazing, after all these years. Top-shelf ink in the olden days I guess.


Oooh, she DOES Love me...the book says so.





Some Of The Quirkier Cards Of The Bunch ~ But Still Fun


The little munchkin baby with the swim-cap on is wandering around in the woods, and soon finds a stump with a heart inside. It appears as though the heart is held by the stick fingers of some woodland elf or goblin creature. First thought: "Stay away, munchkin baby, stay away".




As you push down on the 'lever' on the left side of the card, a cute little squirrel shows up, moving the heart to the left in the stump. So clever!




Pull the lever up the other way, and cute squirrel number 2 moves the heart back to the right. Amazing that all the card mechanical's work so well after all these years. And a nice, Happy Valentines Day in the end for munchkin baby in the woods.




This shows the back of the Baby card. Think this was rather high-tech, for the days of 'way back when'. This probably was an expensive card, since it was very mechanical, and given to Betty by her Grandma and Robert. There is also a fold-out tab, to display the card on your desk or table-top.






This larger card is also interactive. The kids are pumping away on the handle...what will happen?

Well, good question. Some sort of pumpkin-colored thing opens up. Not sure, maybe it was red a long time ago, and had a heart or something else 'Valentine-ish' on the top. But I think it is complete, and is supposed to be a pump-head full of 'Heart Water'. Any other ideas out there? Whatever is up, this card is once again, rather high-tech for the day. And still works as intended.






This card looks a bit crazy at first. The horse reminds me of the one Ichabod Crane rode, and has obviously been running a long long time. He looks a bit knackered. And the boy is rushing forward to profess great Love by brandishing a very pointy sword in his hand.

But he soon makes up for his questionable taste in romantic moves. Wiggle his hat back and forth, and he gets googly-eyed for his New Love. The eyes go back and forth, forth and back. We call this an old fashioned, mechanical gif. Flip from image below to above really fast, and see for yourself. "Ooohh, aaaah".






I'm REALLY not sure about this guy. He's supposed to be a golfer or something, judging by the looks of the handle in his hand. But the ears...I'm straddling the fence about this one. Maybe this was a character from a cartoon long ago. Hard to say. Either way, it would take a woman of serious humor to appreciate this card, when you plopped it down on the tray during breakfast-in-bed on the 14th.






This card folds out as a vertical card, with an image front and back. Rather lovely. And the "centrist-piece" for this and yesterday's Valentine's post.




What the previous card said on the inside. At first this poem seems sweet..."I'm not the greatest poet, but will cross my heart and die for you"...




...but looking more closely, he is at the Recruiting Station. Maybe it is just me, but this seems a bit, different. My guess is that the recruiting station makes his pledge to die for you all that much more believable. Sort of a patriotic pledge of allegiance of Love and Devotion.

Pretty sure this card is from 1935 or before, a time of rather major pacifism in the US, and several years away from the start of WW II. So probably not based in a war drive or pro-recruitment for the army, or that sort of thing. So I'll stick to the pledge of devotion and love. Any other ideas out there?




Well, thanks so much for checking out this post and the Cards of Yesteryear. Hope you enjoyed more of these Valentine's Day memories as much as I enjoyed putting them out.

Have a Happy Day-After Valentine's Day






Thanks for stopping in and viewing the second day of old cards of Love on Valentine's Day. If you have any thoughts about the interactive nature of the old cards, the odd-duck view in some of them, more Love spreading about a day after the BIG day, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd LOVE to hear from you.



Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 02/15/2018 @ 13:30



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 35

DONE Valentines Day 2018 Grasshopper Mountain Lion.PNG

Sort:  

These old valentine cards are delightful! I am not that old, but old enough to remember seeing some in my mothers collection of saved cards. My in laws also had some old ones even from the Victorian age. I don't know what happened to those ones though.

I was raised in the 60's so I recall some fancy valentine day cards with moving parts and little pop ups. The heart shaped ones are the most familiar - they were on some fairly heavy paper stock.

Nice post - a little bit of love history :)

Thanks, they are fun to look at and think about. I did hit a bit of this when young, but certainly not to the level of some of these. Would love to see some of the Victorian ones. I'm sure they were fancy and spectacular. So many old things in my world have seen the same fate. The "I don't know where's" get them.
Folks with kids tell me they still do some of this, but everyone gets them from everyone. Which is nice, to not leave kids out in the corner with nothing. Was always so very hard on those left out. Like in gym class. Thanks for stopping in and admiring the 'Love History'. I should put the rest out...next year.

I enjoyed seeing these as well. I was about to comment while ago when Hubby dragged me away to shop for my new office. How could I resist? :P

Glad you enjoyed the cards, and I'm pretty sure shopping for cool office furniture and other cool decor-atives trumps a dds post at any time of the day. This stuff will be here tomorrow and on into perpetuity on the blockchain...
Wow, that sounds pretty amazing, and a bit scary. People will be reading about my Christmas trees, carved cabbaa'ge Nilson, Wilson² , and all the rest, well into the year 2187. Double wow. My mind has been boggled...

Shopping doesn't trump your posts but I knew it would be here when I got back. :D I'm not a typical woman, I don't love shopping. I do get a little joy out of it though when its for stuff like this. :P

It does boggle the mind to know people will read what we posted long after we are gone.

follow upvote and resteemit has been done

Thanks for stopping in, I appreciate it muchly.

I don't think I have to say which one is my favourite here, should be obvious enough :P

That IS a tough one, but I think might have it narrowed down a bit O :

The card with the gentleman with the 'move star' slicked to the side hair in his jumper/sweater waistcoat/vest is the one for me! It looks like 1920's and it'd be a Valentine I'd actually be proud to recieve, whether on breakfast trays or slid under my door with a secret but furtive knock knock.

He is a keeper, isn't he?! I hope one day you get such a romantic card, and that 'furtive knock'. Ya crack me up.

Awesome collection and most of them seem to be in pristine shape!!! I don't think they make too many cards these days with metal rivets.

Thanks, they are in pretty good shape, which is amazing considering how long some have been around.

So very true....I'm pretty sure I could find a whole lot more with digital chips in them these days than rivets. And I'm quite sure my 'rivets' will still be working in 2055, but can't say the same about the chips. (I saw a card the other day that talked, think it was $15 they wanted. Seemed a bit absurd to me. Then again, I have pliers almost 100 years old I still use, so...probably shouldn't spout too loud about such things.)

The "golfer" one is a bit creepy. Apparently he is hearing something that is making him blush LOL.

Yes, I agree, he is a bit on the 'different' side. Looks like he's up to something. Not sure what the story is behind him. Just don't tell @donnadavisart above I said all this. I might get in trouble ( :

Oh my! Thats what I get for speaking before reading the comments! She likes that one LOL!!! AND you had to call her attention to it!!! You really want ME to get in trouble LOL! I see how its going LOL!

Oh dear, me oh my, now we're BOTH in trouble. Sorry Maynard, my royal badness. Maybe she won't notice...

These are awesome! Some are a little weird, but still awesome! The squirrel one is my favourite!

Glad you enjoyed them. They are a fun blast from the past. There was a different viewpoint in some, that's for sure. The squirrel is a very creative one, probably one of my favorites as well. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71