Three Main Leadership LessonssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #leadership6 years ago

1-Always get feedback from surrounding and accept it graciously

As far as what questions to ask to ensure you get honest responses, choose your words carefully and meaningfully, but be straightforward and unambiguous. Some of my favorite questions include:

  • What can I do to better support our team’s mission?
  • Whom should I be working with more closely?
  • Which parts of my leadership or professional style concern you most?
  • If you were in my position for a day, what would you change?

Be certain you solicit feedback often, but keep it on a predictable schedule. For example, I conduct direct one-to-ones monthly and document everything discussed in GoCo for both parties’ reference.

2. Pay attention to what’s happening around you.

Remember, too, that leaders aren’t the only ones with great ideas. Everyone in a company has a lot to say, but they often don’t bring up their views without prompting. I, for instance, like to conduct exit interviews and follow-ups with past employees to foster a culture of honesty, and I encourage my employees to offer up their ideas even if I don’t instigate them. Because without knowledge of our own blind spots, how can anyone be a true asset?

3. Take time to care for yourself.

Find what you need and chase after it hard. Whether it’s uplifting podcasts (which I love), exercising, spending time with family and friends, or finding inspiration while sitting quietly and meditating for 15 minutes before bedtime, you owe it to yourself and those you work with to make yourself the best self.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28