New Over/Under Photos Of The Truckee River - Which Do You Like Best?

A couple of days ago, I got out for a quick photo adventure to the Truckee River in Downtown Truckee, California. I only live about a 10-minute drive from this spot so I've visited it many times this Autumn season and finally, the yellow color to the cottonwood leaves were peaking and things were looking great.

While there, I decided to have some fun with the underwater housing for the Canon 5DS R and I shot some over/under photos of the river with the fall colors in the background. If you've been following along, you may remember recent over/under photos I posted of the Little Truckee River with Kokanee Salmon in the shot. There were no fish to be found at this location, but with the addition of a big sunburst, I think these photos work and they can be called "keepers".

The first photo is a little downstream of the second photo. I like them both a lot, but I can't decide which one I like best. I'm curious:

Which of these two photos do you like best?


_Q1A2881.jpg #1

_Q1A2768.jpg #2

These were both shot with a Canon 5DS R in an Ewa-Marine U-B 100 Underwater Housing. The ISO was 400 and the shutter speed was 1/200 second for both of them. The camera was set to speed priority mode so it chose the best aperture for the scene automatically. The top image was f20, the bottom image was f22. The lens of the underwater housing was wet and you can see some imperfections where water drops blurred parts of the photo a bit. The sunburst also has extra spots or sparkles to it because of wet lens. Unfortunately, this always happens for me with these types of shots, but I personally think they're cool enough to where the imperfections can be overlooked. What do you think?

I posted a short dtube video yesterday of this little adventure. If you missed it, it can be seen HERE.




Thank you for looking, watching, and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

Man! You have been blowing my mind with your shots lately! We have been headed through the Rocky Mountains the last couple of days headed west, and I have been burning my phone camera up haha. We are headed toward your neck of the woods (west coast ) haha

Oh man, I bet the photography has been incredible for you. Thanks, glad you've been diggin' the work lately. If you make it through Tahoe, I hope you hit me up. If our schedules work out you're more than welcome to park on my mostly flat driveway for a day or few. I'm technically not allowed to have campers on my property thanks to homeowners association rules, but me and rules don't mix haha! My brothers have stayed in the driveway with no problems and somewhat recently, @jarvie stayed with his trailer. I'd love to take you guys out for a nice hike and shoot the stuff... Seriously, I'd love to meet up!

That sounds amazing. I will tun it by the wife and see what she thinks. Yeah we are currently in a suburban and tent. The RV wasn't quite the right tool for the job.

Ah, I remember seeing you got rid of the RV but for some reason I thought you got or were getting a trailer... Either way, I'd love to meet up if you're in the area, even if it's just for coffee, lunch, or a quick hike. Have a great day!

Yeah! We have made it to Moab Utah!

Lucky you! Have fun!

Perspective. I love it. Great shot

Oh, and thank you for the resteem!!!!!

Thank you @prettynicevideo! Yup, got to love that interesting and different perspective. Always trying to find a unique view. Cheers!

Oh man, when I thought "ok, now I'm learning with Scott's landscape photographies", you go there and bring under water photographies. Come oooooon. HAHAH

Haha! Got to push myself too with new ideas, compositions, and gear. Hope you're having a great day!

I had to look at both photos carefully, but I would have to say #2 is my favorite this time. The sun and sky look great in both but I really have to say that the light refraction shining on the rocks in #2 is really cool looking. The background is a bit better in my opinion just because I like a bit of the hill on photo #1 but I just think that really neat looking light shining on the rocks really makes the photo pop. It's almost like there a little veins of gold on the rocks and its glowing. Looks fantastic. Great job @scottshots!

Nice, thank you @thraellock! I appreciate the detailed answer and reasons. Yeah, I liked the background better on the first one too but I totally see what you mean about the light refraction looking extra cool in the second one. "Veins of gold", I love it! Have a great day!

Thanks! Glad I can provide some literary commenting. Didn't sit through those college classes for nothing. Fighting a migraine today. Hate those things. Prevent me from doing anything. blech. Anyways, I really enjoy your photos. Gives me something to look forward to.

Sorry about the migraine, no fun at all. Glad you enjoy the photos and hopefully you'll get out for some fun activities soon!

#1 I was reading on a friend's Instagram photo that you should cut the pictures into 3rds, so that makes me a professional photographer critic right? 😂.
No really, I like how the under water, land, and sky have a nice balance. Great job.

Haha! Yup, professional photo critic indeed! But that rule of thirds is so much fun to break... Glad you like that first one, thank you and I hope you're having a great day!

This is really cool! Great idea and composition 8)

Thank you, glad you like them! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71